Toby's Room

From Booker Prize winner Pat Barker, a masterful novel that portrays the staggering human cost of the Great War. Fans of Downton Abbey and War Horse will be enthralled. Order your copy of this amazing novel today.

“Barker…has pursued [World War I] through a remarkable series of novels: the much-admired “Regeneration” trilogy…Life Class and now Toby’s Room…. [T]hese novels go far beyond a demonstration of the powers of the historical imagination. Like most good works of fiction, they’re not so much about the events they depict as about the resonance of those events, the way certain actions ripple through people’s lives…. Toby’s Room takes large risks. It’s dark, painful and indelibly grotesque, yet it is also tender. It strains its own narrative control to create in the midst of an ordinary life a kind of deformed reality—precisely to illustrate how everything we call ‘ordinary’ is disfigured by war. And it succeeds brilliantly.”— John Vernon, New York Times Book Review

“[T]he writing is lucid and often beautiful.”—Thom Geier, Entertainment Weekly

“You get a glimpse inside Toby’s room in Pat Barker’s poignant novel of the same name, but what you remember are three real and very different English landmarks — the Slade, London’s prestigious art academy; Cafe Royal, frequented by the likes of Oscar Wilde, Winston Churchill and Virginia Woolf; and the Queen’s Hospital, opened in 1917 to serve injured British soldiers in need of facial reconstruction…. No one evokes England in all its stiff-upper-lip gritty wartime privation like Barker. She is as uncompromising as Henry Tonks, as determined to render an honest portrayal of war. She will not allow us to sweep it out of sight…. [She] sets the bar high.”—Ellen Kanner, Miami Herald

“Haunting and complicated sibling love is at the heart of Pat Barker’s Great War novel
…. [T]he precision of Ms. Barker’s writing shows her again to be one of the finest chroniclers of both the physical and psychological disfigurements exacted by the First World War.”—Wall Street Journal

“A Pat Barker novel…is a novel that deals in some way with the horrors of World War One, and it’s a also a novel about art, but mostly it’s a novel about how art attempts to depict the horrors of World War One. And this is how a Pat Barker novel attempts to depict the horrors of World War One: bluntly.”—Brock Clark, Boston Globe

“[A]lthough Toby’s Room is not billed as a prequel or sequel to Life Class and the reader need not be familiar with that novel in order to get to grips with this… [t]hose who do know Barker’s previous work will be struck by recurrences and continuations in this novel not only of events in Life Class, but in Regeneration, too…. [Barker's] prose remains fresh, humanely business-like, crisp and unsentimental. Images are scrupulously vivid, and the plot has real momentum.”—Freya Johnston, Telegraph (London)

“A driving storyline and a clear eye, steadily facing the history of our world…. For Barker, the wounded faces of the soldier-victims are realities, and also emblems of what must never be forgotten or evaded about war, and must continue – in her plain, steady, compelling voice – to be turned into art.”—Hermione Lee, Guardian (London)