Reading Group Center




We Like Our Books Like We Like Our Coffee

We Like Our Books Like We Like Our Coffee

Oh, is it time to post? Hold on a second . . . raises finger, puts mug to lips, takes a huge gulp . . . okay, that’s better. National Coffee Day is tomorrow and we clearly need to celebrate! We at the Reading Group Center know that coffee can be a way of life and that, in some cases, nothing would get done without it, but those aren’t the only reasons we love it. We’ve found that a cup of joe makes the perfect reading companion. Whether you take your latest thriller to the café to turn pages to the sound of the espresso machine, curl up on your living room couch with a novel and your fresh French press, or sip an iced latte by the pool with your latest beach read, books and coffee just go together. Not only that, there are as many kinds of coffee drinks as there are kinds of books. You may have your go-to standby, maybe you’re interested in trying something new, you might change your preference based on the season or what everyone’s talking about, or maybe you think it’s just not for you—wait, what? If that’s the case you probably just haven’t found your niche yet, or may we suggest tea?

To celebrate National Coffee Day, why not pick your next read based on your coffee preference? We’ve paired some of our favorite books with barista specialties—just let us know how you like your coffee!

If you like your coffee:

Light and Sweet
ChanceTry a Vanilla Latte and Chance Developments by Alexander McCall Smith

“Written in praise of the human capacity for love. . . . A sense of possibility, of the surprises that make even the quietest existence eventful, animates each tale.” —The New York Times Book Review

Inspired by antique photographs, these five stunning short stories capture the surprising intersections of love and friendship that alter life’s journeys. These charming and poignant stories are a testament to the power of human connection and brim with a grace and humor that could only come from the pen of Alexander McCall Smith.

Read an excerpt | Get the reader’s guide | Buy the book

 

Rich and Dark
White TearsTry a Double Espresso and White Tears by Hari Kunzru

“A novel that’s as brave as it is brutal, and it lets nothing and nobody off the hook . . . an urgent novel that’s as challenging as it is terrifying. . . . Completely impossible to put down.” —NPR

Ghost story, murder mystery, love letter to American music—White Tears is all of this and more, a literary thriller, an investigation of race and appropriation in society today, and a meditation on art—who owns it, who can consume it, and who profits from it.

Read an excerpt | Get the reader’s guide | Buy the book

 

Smooth and Balanced
Uncommon TypeTry an Iced Cold Brew and Uncommon Type by Tom Hanks

“Wise and hilarious.” —Steve Martin

A collection of short stories that explore—with great affection, humor, and insight—the human condition in all its foibles. The stories are linked by one thing: in each of them, a typewriter plays a part, sometimes minor, sometimes central.

Read an excerpt | Buy the book

 

Healthy(ish)
Fitness JunkieTry a Green Tea Frappuccino and Fitness Junkie by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza

“A deliciously fun romp through the bizarre and cult-like workouts of the superrich. . . . Funny, frothy and delicious.” —Jane Green, author of Falling

An outrageously funny novel about one woman’s attempt—through clay diets, naked yoga, green juice, and cultish workout classes—to win back her career, save her best friend, and lose thirty pounds. As Janey eschews carbs, pays thousands of dollars to wellness gurus, and is harassed by her very own fitness bracelet, she can’t help but wonder: Did she really need to lose weight in the first place?

Buy the book

 

Instagramably Luxurious
Crazy RichTry a Gold Flake Cappuccino and Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

“Deliciously decadent. . . . This 48-karat beach read is crazy fun.” —Entertainment Weekly

Rachel Chu agrees to spend the summer in Singapore with her boyfriend, Nicholas Young, but he has failed to give her a few key details, namely that his family is crazy rich. Rachel may as well have a target on her back the second she steps off the plane, and soon, her relaxed vacation turns into an obstacle course of old money, new money, nosy relatives, and scheming social climbers.

Read an excerpt | Get the reader’s guide | Buy the book

 

To Keep You Up All Night
SandmanTry a Red Eye and The Sandman by Lars Kepler

“The suspense is unrelenting and the bite-size chapters end on cliffhangers. But unlike the villain, who makes victims go to sleep, his namesake novel will keep readers up all night.” —Shelf Awareness

Late one night outside Stockholm, Mikael Kohler-Frost is found wandering. Thirteen years earlier, he went missing along with his younger sister. They were long thought to have been victims of Sweden’s most notorious serial killer, Jurek Walter, now serving a life sentence in a maximum security psychiatric hospital. Now Mikael tells the police that his sister is still alive and being held by someone he knows only as the Sandman. This internationally bestselling thriller tells the chilling story of a manipulative serial killer and the two brilliant police agents who must try to beat him at his own game.

Read an excerpt | Buy the book