The Battle of Ap Bac

The Battle of Ap Bac

In the opening years of the Vietnam War, a small group of American military advisors and their South Vietnamese allies were facing down the Viet Cong. The confident Americans were there...

Read more ›
Mortal Lock

Mortal Lock

A VINTAGE CRIME/BLACK LIZARD ORIGINALA hit man stalks his mark at a race track. A sociopath crosses every moral boundary to become a published author. An ex-mercenary...

Read more ›
What Do You Mean, You Can't Eat in My Home?

What Do You Mean, You Can't Eat in My Home?

Here is a book of workable, sensible solutions to the everyday problems faced by newly observant Jews as they try to explain the parameters of their new lives to the people who love them—but think they’ve...

Read more ›
Leading Man

Leading Man

In the tradition of David Nicholls and Nick Hornby comes a hilarious, bittersweet, heartwarming debut novel about love of all kinds: first, unrequited, delusional, obsessive,...

Read more ›
The Genocides

The Genocides

This spectacular novel established Thomas M. Disch as a major new force in science fiction. First published in 1965, it was immediately labeled a masterpiece reminiscent...

Read more ›
Monkeys

Monkeys

NATIONAL BESTSELLERIn this luminous story of family life--the first novel by Susan Minot, author of the highly acclaimed Evening--the seven Vincent...

Read more ›
Restitution

Restitution

Peter Tyler appears to have it all—a loving wife, a powerful job on Wall Street, a sprawling house in the suburbs. But in a moment of weakness, Peter indulges in a one-night stand with...

Read more ›
Edwin Mullhouse

Edwin Mullhouse

Edwin Mullhouse, a novelist at 10, is mysteriously dead at 11. As a memorial, Edwin's bestfriend, Jeffrey Cartwright, decides that the life of this great American writer...

Read more ›
Making Movies

Making Movies

Why does a director choose a particular script? What must they do in order to keep actors fresh and truthful through take after take of a single scene? How do you stage a shootout—involving more...

Read more ›
The Long March

The Long March

In The Long March, Sun Shuyun uncovers the true story behind the mythic march of Mao's soldiers across China, exposing the famine, disease, and desertion behind the legend.In...

Read more ›
Nobody Knows My Name

Nobody Knows My Name

Told with Baldwin's characteristically unflinching honesty, this collection of illuminating, deeply felt essays examines topics ranging from race relations in the...

Read more ›
Lidia's Mastering the Art of Italian Cuisine

Lidia's Mastering the Art of Italian Cuisine

From the Emmy-winning host of Lidia’s Kitchen, best-selling author, and beloved ambassador for Italian culinary traditions in America comes the ultimate master...

Read more ›
Villain

Villain

A young insurance saleswoman is found strangled at Mitsuse Pass. Her family and friends are shocked and terrified. The pass—which tunnels through a mountainous region of southern Japan—has an eerie history: a...

Read more ›
The Fundamentals of Play

The Fundamentals of Play

Caitlin Macy's remarkable first novel is an evocation of a time and a place in which those things that were always so dependable--money, class, family--are threatened on all sides.Narrated...

Read more ›
Up in the Old Hotel

Up in the Old Hotel

Saloon-keepers and street preachers, gypsies and steel-walking Mohawks, a bearded lady and a 93-year-old “seafoodetarian” who believes his specialized diet will keep him alive for another...

Read more ›
The Five Books of Moses

The Five Books of Moses

Widely acclaimed by Bible scholars and theologians of every denomination, Everett Fox's masterful translation re-creates the echoes, allusions, alliterations, and...

Read more ›
The Complete Manual of Woodworking

The Complete Manual of Woodworking

With more than 1,800 drawings, diagrams and photos, this authoritative guide encompasses the whole art and craft of woodworking. Designed to instruct and inspire...

Read more ›
Terror and Consent

Terror and Consent

Philip Bobbitt follows his magisterial Shield of Achilles with an equally provocative analysis of the West's struggle against terror. Boldly stating that the primary driver of terrorism...

Read more ›
My History

My History

Lady Antonia Fraser—novelist, historian, daughter of progressive aristocrats, and Dame of the British Empire—first fell in love with history in 1936 at the age of five, when she received...

Read more ›
Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou

Beautifully designed and featuring over 150 sepia portraits, family photographs, and letters from the life of one of the world’s most beloved and admired artists,...

Read more ›
Leather Maiden

Leather Maiden

Abrash amalgam of terrifying suspense, raw humor, and intriguing mystery that unfolds in the vividly rendered shadowy lowlands of East Texas.After a harrowing stint in the Iraq...

Read more ›
The Da Vinci Code: Special Illustrated Edition

The Da Vinci Code: Special Illustrated Edition

One of the bestselling novels of all time, Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code has intrigued and thrilled millions of readers around the world. Now all the artwork, symbols, architecture, and historic locations—over...

Read more ›
In Other Worlds

In Other Worlds

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Handmaid's TaleAt a time when speculative fiction seems less and less far-fetched, Margaret Atwood lends...

Read more ›
To the Top of the Mountain

To the Top of the Mountain

Don’t miss this latest installment in Arne Dahl’s acclaimed thriller series, winner of the German Crime Writing Prize. Stockholm’s Intercrime...

Read more ›

Load more