Biography & Memoir

Wild

Wild

#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLERNOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTUREAt twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was...

Read more ›
Lean In

Lean In

Thirty years after women became 50 percent of the college graduates in the United States, men still hold the vast majority of leadership positions in government and industry. This means that women’s voices are still not heard equally...

Read more ›
The Roosevelts

The Roosevelts

New York Times Bestseller A vivid and personal portrait of America’s greatest political family and its enormous impact on our nation, which expands on the hugely acclaimed seven-part PBS documentary series, bringing readers even...

Read more ›
Maus I: A Survivor's Tale

Maus I: A Survivor's Tale

A story of a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe and his son, a cartoonist who tries to come to terms with his father's story and history itself.

Read more ›
The Secret History of Wonder Woman

The Secret History of Wonder Woman

A riveting work of historical detection revealing that the origin of one of the world’s most iconic superheroes hides within it a fascinating family story—and a crucial history of twentieth-century...

Read more ›
Lawrence in Arabia

Lawrence in Arabia

Finalist for the 2014 National Book Critics Circle Award in BiographyOne of the Best Books of the Year:The Christian Science MonitorNPRThe Seattle Times St. Louis Post-Dispatch Chicago...

Read more ›
The Complete Persepolis

The Complete Persepolis

Here, in one volume: Marjane Satrapi's best-selling, internationally acclaimed memoir-in-comic-strips.Persepolis is the story of Satrapi's unforgettable childhood and...

Read more ›
Maeve's Times

Maeve's Times

Five decades of selected writings from the Irish Times by the beloved and best-selling author, filled with her hallmark humor, candor, and wisdom-a timeless gift...

Read more ›
Reagan

Reagan

From master storyteller and New York Times bestselling historian H. W. Brands comes the definitive biography of a visionary and transformative president.     In...

Read more ›
Into Thin Air

Into Thin Air

When Jon Krakauer reached the summit of Mt. Everest in the early afternoon of May 10,1996, he hadn't slept in fifty-seven hours and was reeling from the brain-altering effects of oxygen depletion. As he turned...

Read more ›
A Walk in the Woods

A Walk in the Woods

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Robert Redford and Nick Nolte.The Appalachian Trail trail stretches from Georgia to Maine and covers some of the...

Read more ›
The Complete Maus

The Complete Maus

On the occasion of the twenty-fifth anniversary of its first publication, here is the definitive edition of the book acclaimed as “the most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust” (Wall Street Journal)...

Read more ›
On the Move

On the Move

When Oliver Sacks was twelve years old, a perceptive schoolmaster wrote in his report: “Sacks will go far, if he does not go too far.” It is now abundantly clear that...

Read more ›
Maus II: A Survivor's Tale

Maus II: A Survivor's Tale

***WINNER OF THE 1992 PULIZTER PRIZE***Acclaimed as a quiet triumph and a brutally moving work of art, the first volume of Art Spiegelman's Mausintroduced readers to...

Read more ›
Lean In for Graduates

Lean In for Graduates

Expanded and updated exclusively for graduates just entering the workforce, this extraordinary edition of Lean In includes a letter to graduates from Sheryl Sandberg and six additional chapters from experts offering advice on finding...

Read more ›
Zeitoun

Zeitoun

National Bestseller A New York Times Notable Book An O, The Oprah Magazine Terrific Read of the YearA Huffington Post Best Book of the Year A New Yorker Favorite Book of the Year...

Read more ›
Girl, Interrupted

Girl, Interrupted

In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she'd never seen before, eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital. She spent most of the next...

Read more ›
Gift from the Sea

Gift from the Sea

In this inimitable, beloved classic—graceful, lucid and lyrical—Anne Morrow Lindbergh shares her meditations on youth and age; love and marriage; peace, solitude and contentment as she set them down...

Read more ›
Destiny of the Republic

Destiny of the Republic

A Booklist Notable Book of 2012The extraordinary New York Times bestselling account of James Garfield's rise from poverty to the American presidency, and the...

Read more ›
Heads in Beds

Heads in Beds

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry....

Read more ›
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is the best chronicle of drug-soaked, addle-brained, rollicking good times ever committed to the printed page.  It is also the tale of a long...

Read more ›
The River of Doubt

The River of Doubt

At once an incredible adventure narrative and a penetrating biographical portrait, The River of Doubt is the true story of Theodore Roosevelt’s harrowing exploration of one of the most dangerous rivers on earth.The...

Read more ›
Catastrophe 1914

Catastrophe 1914

A New York Times Notable Book of 2013A Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Book of the YearWorld War I evokes images of the trenches: grinding, halting...

Read more ›
A Million Little Pieces

A Million Little Pieces

At the age of 23, James Frey woke up on a plane to find his front teeth knocked out and his nose broken. He had no idea where the plane was headed nor any recollection...

Read more ›

Load more