Biography & Memoir

Lean In

Lean In

Thirty years after women became 50 percent of the college graduates in the United States, men still hold the vast majority of leadership positions in government and industry. This means that women’s voices are still not heard equally...

Read more ›
Wild

Wild

A Best Book of the Year: NPR, The Boston GlobeEntertainment Weekly, Vogue, St. Louis Dispatch At twenty-two, Cheryl...

Read more ›
Duty

Duty

From the former secretary of defense, a strikingly candid, vividly written account of his experience serving Presidents George W. Bush and Barack Obama during the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. Before...

Read more ›
The Death of Santini

The Death of Santini

In this powerful and intimate memoir, the beloved bestselling author of The Prince of Tides and his father, the inspiration for The Great Santini, find some common ground at long last.Pat...

Read more ›
My Beloved World

My Beloved World

The first Hispanic and third woman appointed to the United States Supreme Court, Sonia Sotomayor has become an instant American icon. Now, with a candor and intimacy never undertaken...

Read more ›
Maus I: A Survivor's Tale

Maus I: A Survivor's Tale

A story of a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe and his son, a cartoonist who tries to come to terms with his father's story and history itself.

Read more ›
My Age of Anxiety

My Age of Anxiety

A riveting, revelatory, and moving account of the author’s struggles with anxiety, and of the history of efforts by scientists, philosophers, and writers to understand the condition...

Read more ›
Destiny of the Republic

Destiny of the Republic

A Booklist Notable Book of 2012The extraordinary New York Times bestselling account of James Garfield's rise from poverty to the American presidency, and the...

Read more ›
Days of Fire

Days of Fire

In Days of Fire, Peter Baker, Chief White House Correspondent for The New York Times, takes us on a gripping and intimate journey through the eight years of the Bush and...

Read more ›
Into Thin Air

Into Thin Air

When Jon Krakauer reached the summit of Mt. Everest in the early afternoon of May 10,1996, he hadn't slept in fifty-seven hours and was reeling from the brain-altering effects of oxygen depletion. As he turned...

Read more ›
Heads in Beds

Heads in Beds

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry....

Read more ›
Hallucinations

Hallucinations

To many people, hallucinations imply madness, but in fact they are a common part of the human experience. These sensory distortions range from the shimmering zigzags...

Read more ›
Zeitoun

Zeitoun

National Bestseller A New York Times Notable Book An O, The Oprah Magazine Terrific Read of the YearA Huffington Post Best Book of the Year A New Yorker Favorite Book of the Year...

Read more ›
The Complete Persepolis

The Complete Persepolis

Here, in one volume: Marjane Satrapi's best-selling, internationally acclaimed memoir-in-comic-strips.Persepolis is the story of Satrapi's unforgettable childhood and...

Read more ›
Book of Ages

Book of Ages

National Book Award FinalistFrom one of our most accomplished and widely admired historians, a revelatory portrait of Benjamin Franklin’s youngest sister...

Read more ›
Maus II: A Survivor's Tale

Maus II: A Survivor's Tale

***WINNER OF THE 1992 PULIZTER PRIZE***Acclaimed as a quiet triumph and a brutally moving work of art, the first volume of Art Spiegelman's Mausintroduced readers to...

Read more ›
Bach

Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach is one of the most unfathomable composers in the history of music. How can such sublime work have been produced by a man who (when we can discern his personality at all)...

Read more ›
Girl, Interrupted

Girl, Interrupted

In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she'd never seen before, eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital. She spent most of the next...

Read more ›
The Man Who Saved the Union

The Man Who Saved the Union

Ulysses Grant emerges in this masterful biography as a genius in battle and a driven president to a divided country, who remained fearlessly on the side of right....

Read more ›
Gift from the Sea

Gift from the Sea

In this inimitable, beloved classic—graceful, lucid and lyrical—Anne Morrow Lindbergh shares her meditations on youth and age; love and marriage; peace, solitude and contentment as she set them down...

Read more ›
Empress Dowager Cixi

Empress Dowager Cixi

A New York Times Notable BookEmpress Dowager Cixi (1835–1908) is the most important woman in Chinese history. She ruled China for decades and brought a medieval empire...

Read more ›
A Million Little Pieces

A Million Little Pieces

At the age of 23, James Frey woke up on a plane to find his front teeth knocked out and his nose broken. He had no idea where the plane was headed nor any recollection...

Read more ›
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is the best chronicle of drug-soaked, addle-brained, rollicking good times ever committed to the printed page.  It is also the tale of a long...

Read more ›
The River of Doubt

The River of Doubt

At once an incredible adventure narrative and a penetrating biographical portrait, The River of Doubt is the true story of Theodore Roosevelt’s harrowing exploration of one of the most dangerous rivers on earth.The...

Read more ›

Load more