Biography & Memoir

Cross of Snow

Cross of Snow

A major literary biography of America's best-loved nineteenth-century poet, the first in more than fifty years, and a much-needed reassessment for the twenty-first century of a writer whose stature and celebrity were unparalleled in his time,...

Read more ›
Our Man

Our Man

*Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Biography**Winner of the Los Angeles Times Prize for Biography**Winner of the 2019 Hitchens Prize*"Portrays Holbrooke in all of his endearing...

Read more ›
Brown Album

Brown Album

*A Vintage Original*From the much-acclaimed novelist and essayist, a beautifully rendered, poignant collection of personal essays, chronicling immigrant and Iranian-American life...

Read more ›
The Equivalents

The Equivalents

The timely, never-before-told story of five brilliant, passionate women who, in the early 1960s, converged at the newly founded Radcliffe Institute for Independent Study...

Read more ›
Stray

Stray

From the bestselling author of Sweetbitter, a memoir of growing up in a family shattered by lies and addiction, and of one woman's attempts to find a life beyond the limits of her past. Stray...

Read more ›
Flash Crash

Flash Crash

"[An] extraordinary tale"  —Wall Street Journal"Compelling [and] engaging" —Financial Times"Magnificently detailed yet pacy... Think Trading Places meets Wall...

Read more ›
In Black and White

In Black and White

For decades one of America’s most recognizable stars, the real Sammy Davis, Jr. has long remained hidden behind the persona the performer so vigorously generated—and...

Read more ›
Once More We Saw Stars

Once More We Saw Stars

“A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.” --Cheryl StrayedFor readers of The Bright Hour and When...

Read more ›
Dirt

Dirt

A hilariously self-deprecating, highly obsessive account of the author's adventures, in the world of French haute cuisine, for anyone whose ever found joy in cooking and eating food with their family--from the author of the best-selling, widely acclaimed Heat....

Read more ›
A Honeybee Heart Has Five Openings

A Honeybee Heart Has Five Openings

An inspiring, up-close portrait of tending to a honeybee hive—a year of living dangerously—watching and capturing the wondrous, complex universe of honeybees and learning an altogether different way of being in the world."As...

Read more ›
The Castle on Sunset

The Castle on Sunset

Since 1929, Hollywood’s brightest stars have flocked to the Chateau Marmont as if it were a second home. An apartment building-turned-hotel, the Chateau has been the backdrop...

Read more ›
The Edge of Every Day

The Edge of Every Day

The debut of an important new literary voice: Marin Sardy's extraordinarily affecting, fiercely intelligent memoir unflinchingly traces the path of the schizophrenia that runs in her family.Against...

Read more ›
Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Ruth Bader Ginsburg

The first full life—private, public, legal, philosophical—of the 107th Supreme Court Justice, one of the most profound and profoundly transformative legal minds of our time; a book fifteen years...

Read more ›
Calder: The Conquest of Space

Calder: The Conquest of Space

The concluding volume to the first biography of one of the most important, influential, and beloved twentieth-century sculptors, and one of the greatest artists in the cultural...

Read more ›
Running to the Edge

Running to the Edge

"Gripping . . . the narrative is smooth and immediate, almost effortless in its detail, if occasionally breathless, like a good fast run . . ." --The New York Times Book ReviewVisionary...

Read more ›
The Ministry of Truth

The Ministry of Truth

1984 isn’t just a novel; it’s a key to understanding the modern world. George Orwell’s final work is a treasure chest of ideas and memes—Big Brother, the Thought Police, Doublethink,...

Read more ›
Attention: A Love Story

Attention: A Love Story

“This is a rich inquiry into what it means to pay (and maintain) attention in a world increasingly permeated with distraction and interference.”—Publisher’s WeeklyCombining...

Read more ›
Hidden Valley Road

Hidden Valley Road

OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB PICK#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERThe heartrending story of a midcentury American family with twelve children, six of them diagnosed with schizophrenia,...

Read more ›
Always Home: A Daughter's Recipes & Stories

Always Home: A Daughter's Recipes & Stories

A cookbook and culinary memoir about growing up as the daughter of revered chef/restaurateur Alice Waters: a story of food, family, and the need for beauty in all aspects of life.In...

Read more ›
Notes from a Young Black Chef

Notes from a Young Black Chef

“Kwame Onwuachi’s story shines a light on food and culture not just in American restaurants or African American communities but around the world.” —Questlove By the time...

Read more ›
Wow, No Thank You.

Wow, No Thank You.

*AN INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER*A Most Anticipated Book according to: *Elle * Oprah Magazine * Vulture * New York Times * PureWow * AV CLub * Time Magazine * Entertainment Weekly * PureWow * Buzzfeed * The Observer...

Read more ›
Autumn Light

Autumn Light

Returning to his longtime home in Japan after his father-in-law’s sudden death, Pico Iyer picks up the steadying patterns of his everyday rites: going to the...

Read more ›
Child of Light

Child of Light

The first and definitive biography of one of the great American novelists of the postwar era, the author of Dog Soldiers and A Flag for Sunrise, and a penetrating critic of American power, innocence,...

Read more ›
The Lady's Handbook for Her Mysterious Illness

The Lady's Handbook for Her Mysterious Illness

The darkly funny memoir of Sarah Ramey’s years-long battle with a mysterious illness that doctors thought was all in her head—but wasn’t. A revelation and...

Read more ›

Load more