Biography & Memoir

Borges and Me

Borges and Me

An apprentice writer has an entirely unexpected encounter with literary genius Jorge Luis Borges that will profoundly alter his life and work. A poignant and comic literary coming-of-age...

Read more ›
It Was All a Lie

It Was All a Lie

From the most successful Republican political operative of his generation, a searing, unflinching, and deeply personal exposé of how his party became what it is todayStuart...

Read more ›
Personal Writings

Personal Writings

The Nobel Prize winner's most influential and enduring personal writings, reorganized and recontextualized, and with a foreword by Camus scholar Alice Kaplan.Perhaps...

Read more ›
All the Wrong Moves

All the Wrong Moves

An enthralling journey into the world of chess--a story of heartbreak, obsession, failure, and the hunger for greatnessSasha Chapin is a victim of chess. Like countless amateurs before...

Read more ›
Time Song

Time Song

Julia Blackburn has always collected things that hold stories about the past, especially the very distant past: mammoth bones, little shells that happen to be two million years...

Read more ›
Not One of the Boys

Not One of the Boys

From an outspoken feminist, a leader of the Women's Movement in the 1960s and '70s--a candid, wide-ranging and deeply personal memoir that is, as well, an illuminating historical...

Read more ›
Stravinsky

Stravinsky

Widely regarded the greatest composer of the twentieth century, Igor Stravinsky was central to the development of modernism in art. Deeply influential and wonderfully productive, he is remembered for dozens of masterworks, from The Firebird and The Rite of Spring...

Read more ›
When Truth Is All You Have

When Truth Is All You Have

"Jim McCloskey and Centurion are pioneers in the struggle to expose the tragedy of innocent people wrongly convicted and sent to prison in America...No one has illuminated this problem more thoughtfully and persistently."--Bryan...

Read more ›
In the Land of Good Living

In the Land of Good Living

A wickedly smart, funny, and irresistibly off-kilter account of an improbable thousand-mile journey on foot into the heart of modern Florida, the state that Russell calls...

Read more ›
Exercise of Power

Exercise of Power

From the former secretary of defense and author of the acclaimed #1 best-selling memoir, Duty, a candid, sweeping examination of power in all its manifestations, and...

Read more ›
All the Way to the Tigers

All the Way to the Tigers

From the author of Nothing to Declare, a new travel narrative examining healing, redemption, and what it means to be a solo woman on the road."Mary Morris has long been a master memoirist...and...

Read more ›
Cross of Snow

Cross of Snow

A major literary biography of America's best-loved nineteenth-century poet, the first in more than fifty years, and a much-needed reassessment for the twenty-first century of a writer whose stature and celebrity were unparalleled in his time,...

Read more ›
Our Man

Our Man

*Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Biography**Winner of the Los Angeles Times Prize for Biography**Winner of the 2019 Hitchens Prize*"Portrays Holbrooke in all of his endearing...

Read more ›
Brown Album

Brown Album

*A Vintage Original*From the much-acclaimed novelist and essayist, a beautifully rendered, poignant collection of personal essays, chronicling immigrant and Iranian-American life...

Read more ›
The Equivalents

The Equivalents

The timely, never-before-told story of five brilliant, passionate women who, in the early 1960s, converged at the newly founded Radcliffe Institute for Independent Study...

Read more ›
Stray

Stray

From the bestselling author of Sweetbitter, a memoir of growing up in a family shattered by lies and addiction, and of one woman's attempts to find a life beyond the limits of her past. Stray...

Read more ›
Flash Crash

Flash Crash

"[An] extraordinary tale"  —Wall Street Journal"Compelling [and] engaging" —Financial Times"Magnificently detailed yet pacy... Think Trading Places meets Wall...

Read more ›
In Black and White

In Black and White

For decades one of America’s most recognizable stars, the real Sammy Davis, Jr. has long remained hidden behind the persona the performer so vigorously generated—and...

Read more ›
Once More We Saw Stars

Once More We Saw Stars

“A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.” --Cheryl StrayedFor readers of The Bright Hour and When...

Read more ›
Dirt

Dirt

A hilariously self-deprecating, highly obsessive account of the author's adventures, in the world of French haute cuisine, for anyone whose ever found joy in cooking and eating food with their family--from the author of the best-selling, widely acclaimed Heat....

Read more ›
A Honeybee Heart Has Five Openings

A Honeybee Heart Has Five Openings

An inspiring, up-close portrait of tending to a honeybee hive—a year of living dangerously—watching and capturing the wondrous, complex universe of honeybees and learning an altogether different way of being in the world."As...

Read more ›
The Castle on Sunset

The Castle on Sunset

Since 1929, Hollywood’s brightest stars have flocked to the Chateau Marmont as if it were a second home. An apartment building-turned-hotel, the Chateau has been the backdrop...

Read more ›
The Edge of Every Day

The Edge of Every Day

The debut of an important new literary voice: Marin Sardy's extraordinarily affecting, fiercely intelligent memoir unflinchingly traces the path of the schizophrenia that runs in her family.Against...

Read more ›
Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Ruth Bader Ginsburg

The first full life—private, public, legal, philosophical—of the 107th Supreme Court Justice, one of the most profound and profoundly transformative legal minds of our time; a book fifteen years...

Read more ›

Load more