Business & Economics

Lean In

Lean In

Thirty years after women became 50 percent of the college graduates in the United States, men still hold the vast majority of leadership positions in government and industry. This means that women’s voices are still not heard equally...

Read more ›
Heads in Beds

Heads in Beds

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry....

Read more ›
Aftershock(Inequality for All--Movie Tie-in Edition)

Aftershock(Inequality for All--Movie Tie-in Edition)

Updated and With a New IntroductionWhen the nation’s economy foundered in 2008, blame was directed almost universally at Wall Street bankers....

Read more ›
Beyond Outrage: Expanded Edition

Beyond Outrage: Expanded Edition

America’s economy and democracy are working for the benefit of an ever-fewer privileged and powerful people. But rather than just complain about it or give up on the system,...

Read more ›
The New Digital Age

The New Digital Age

In the next decade, five billion new people will come online, posing for our world a host of new opportunities—and dangers. Google’s Eric Schmidt and Jared Cohen traveled to thirty-five...

Read more ›
Mindwise

Mindwise

You are a mind reader, born with an extraordinary ability to understand what others think, feel, believe, want, and know. It’s a sixth sense you use every day, in every personal and professional...

Read more ›
Act of Congress

Act of Congress

An eye-opening account of how Congress today really works—and doesn’t—that follows the dramatic journey of the sweeping financial reform bill enacted in response to the Great Crash of 2008.The...

Read more ›
The Idealist

The Idealist

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BloombergForbesThe SpectatorRecipient of Foreign Policy's 2013 Albie AwardA powerful portrayal...

Read more ›
High Output Management

High Output Management

This is a user-friendly guide to the art and science of management from Andrew S. Grove, the president of America's leading manufacturer of computer chips. Groves recommendations are equally appropriate...

Read more ›
Development as Freedom

Development as Freedom

By the winner of the 1988 Nobel Prize in Economics,  an essential and  paradigm-altering framework for understanding economic development--for both rich and...

Read more ›
The Wisdom of Crowds

The Wisdom of Crowds

In this fascinating book, New Yorker business columnist James Surowiecki explores a deceptively simple idea: Large groups of people are smarter than an elite few, no matter how...

Read more ›
The Master Switch

The Master Switch

It is easy to forget that every development in the history of the American information industry–from the telephone to radio to film–once existed in an open and...

Read more ›
Money

Money

From ancient currency to Adam Smith, from the gold standard to shadow banking and the Great Recession: a sweeping historical epic that traces the development and evolution of one of humankind’s...

Read more ›
Ogilvy on Advertising

Ogilvy on Advertising

A candid and indispensable primer on all aspects of advertising from the man Time has called "the most sought after wizard in the business". 223 photos....

Read more ›
Top of the Rock

Top of the Rock

Top of the Rock is an absorbing insiders’ account of an incredible time and place in television history: the years when Must See TV—led by Cheers, Seinfeld, Friends,...

Read more ›
House of Cards

House of Cards

A blistering narrative account of the negligence and greed that pushed all of Wall Street into chaos and the country into a financial crisis.  At the...

Read more ›
Money Game

Money Game

"This is a modern classic." —Paul A. Samuelson, First American Nobel Prize Winner in Economics "The best book there is about the stock market and all that goes with it." —The New York...

Read more ›
Back to Work

Back to Work

President Bill Clinton gives us his views on the challenges facing the United States today and why government matters—presenting his ideas on restoring economic growth, job...

Read more ›
Catastrophic Care

Catastrophic Care

A visionary investigation that will change the way we think about health care: how and why it is failing, why expanding coverage will actually make things worse, and how our health care can be transformed...

Read more ›
China Airborne

China Airborne

From one of our most influential journalists, here is a timely, vital, and illuminating account of the next stage of China’s modernization—its plan to rival America as the world’s...

Read more ›
SEND

SEND

Send—the classic guide to email for office and home—has become indispensable for readers navigating the impersonal, and at times overwhelming, world of electronic...

Read more ›
Confucius Lives Next Door

Confucius Lives Next Door

"Fascinating...clearly stated, interesting and provoking.... A plainspoken account of living in Asia."  --San Francisco ChronicleAnyone who has...

Read more ›
Subliminal

Subliminal

Leonard Mlodinow, the best-selling author of The Drunkard’s Walk and coauthor of The Grand Design (with Stephen Hawking), gives us a startling and eye-opening...

Read more ›
Marx for Beginners

Marx for Beginners

A cartoon book about Marx? Are you sure it's Karl, not Groucho? How can you summarize the work of Karl Marx in cartoons? It took Rius to do it. He's put it all in: the origins...

Read more ›

Load more