Self-Help

Brave Enough

Brave Enough

National Best SellerFrom the best-selling author of Wild, a collection of quotes--drawn from the wide range of her writings--that capture her wisdom, courage, and outspoken humor, presented...

Read more ›
Tiny Beautiful Things

Tiny Beautiful Things

This bestselling book from the author of Wild collects the best of The Rumpus's Dear Sugar advice columns plus never-before-published pieces. Rich with humor, insight, compassion—and...

Read more ›
Designing Your Life

Designing Your Life

#1 New York Times Bestseller  At last, a book that shows you how to build—design—a life you can thrive in, at any age or stage  Designers create worlds and solve problems using design...

Read more ›
Bird by Bird

Bird by Bird

"A warm, generous and hilarious guide through the writer's world and its treacherous swamps." --Los Angeles TimesAdvice on writing and on life from...

Read more ›
An Unquiet Mind

An Unquiet Mind

WITH A NEW PREFACE BY THE AUTHORIn her bestselling classic, An Unquiet Mind, Kay Redfield Jamison changed the way we think about moods and madness.Dr. Jamison...

Read more ›
The Wisdom of Insecurity

The Wisdom of Insecurity

We live in an age of unprecedented anxiety. Spending all our time trying to anticipate and plan for the future and to lamenting the past, we forget to embrace the here and...

Read more ›
Driven to Distraction (Revised)

Driven to Distraction (Revised)

Groundbreaking and comprehensive, Driven to Distraction has been a lifeline to the approximately eighteen million Americans who are thought to have ADHD. Now the...

Read more ›
Learned Optimism

Learned Optimism

National BestsellerThe father of the new science of positive psychology and author of Authentic Happiness draws on more than twenty years of clinical research to...

Read more ›
The Way of Zen

The Way of Zen

In his definitive introduction to Zen Buddhism, Alan Watts explains the principles and practices of this ancient religion to Western readers. With a rare combination of...

Read more ›
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

In 1995, Jean-Dominique Bauby was the editor-in-chief of French Elle, the father of two young childen, a 44-year-old man known and loved for his wit, his style, and his impassioned approach...

Read more ›
How to Be a Person in the World

How to Be a Person in the World

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller*For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author...

Read more ›
Word Power Made Easy

Word Power Made Easy

The most effective vocabulary builder in the English language provides a simple, step-by-step method that will increase your knowledge and mastery of written and spoken English. Word...

Read more ›
On My Own

On My Own

In a deeply personal and moving book, the beloved NPR radio host speaks out about the long drawn-out death (from Parkinson’s) of her husband of fifty-four years, and of her struggle...

Read more ›
Stumbling on Happiness

Stumbling on Happiness

Bringing to life scientific research in psychology, cognitive neuroscience, philosophy, and behavioral economics, this bestselling book reveals what scientists have discovered about the uniquely human ability to imagine the...

Read more ›
How Proust Can Change Your Life

How Proust Can Change Your Life

Alain de Botton combines two unlikely genres--literary biography and self-help manual--in the hilarious and unexpectedly practical How Proust Can Change Your Life.Who...

Read more ›
How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are

How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are

From four stunning and accomplished French women -- at last -- a fresh and spirited take on what it really means to be a Parisienne: how they dress, entertain, have fun and attempt to behave themselves. In...

Read more ›
Zoobiquity

Zoobiquity

New York Times BestsellerA Discover Magazine Best Book of 2012An O, The Oprah Magazine “Summer Reading” PickFinalist, 2013 AAAS/Subaru SB&F...

Read more ›
The Precious Present

The Precious Present

Discover the precious present and find yourself!A simple story, engagingly told, The Precious Present does more than capture the heart; it is a valuable gift for anyone seeking a deeper level...

Read more ›
The Art of Travel

The Art of Travel

Any Baedeker will tell us where we ought to travel, but only Alain de Botton will tell us how and why. With the same intelligence and insouciant charm he brought to How...

Read more ›
The Book

The Book

In The Book, Alan Watts provides us with a much-needed answer to the problem of personal identity, distilling and adapting the Hindu philosophy of Vedanta....

Read more ›
This Is It

This Is It

Six revolutionary essays exploring the relationship between spiritual experience and ordinary life—and the need for them to coexist within each of us. With...

Read more ›
Walking on Eggshells

Walking on Eggshells

We raise our children to be independent and lead fulfilling lives, but when they finally do, staying close becomes more complicated than ever. And for every bewildered mother who wonders...

Read more ›
Find a Way

Find a Way

Hillary Clinton said that Find a Way would stay with her through the general election:  “When you’re facing big challenges in your life, you can...

Read more ›
Little Victories

Little Victories

The Wall Street Journal's popular columnist Jason Gay delivers a hilarious and heartfelt guide to modern living. The book you hold in your hand is a rule book. There have been rule...

Read more ›

Load more