Self-Help

Designing Your Life

Designing Your Life

#1 New York Times Bestseller  An inspiring and thought-provoking graduation gift: At last, a book that shows you how to build—design—a life you can thrive in, at any age or stage ...

Read more ›
Brave Enough

Brave Enough

National Best Seller From the best-selling author of Wild, a collection of quotes--drawn from the wide range of her writings--that capture her wisdom, courage, and outspoken humor, presented...

Read more ›
The Wisdom of Insecurity

The Wisdom of Insecurity

We live in an age of unprecedented anxiety. Spending all our time trying to anticipate and plan for the future and to lamenting the past, we forget to embrace the here and...

Read more ›
Silence

Silence

What is silence?Where can it be found?Why is it now more important than ever?In 1993, Norwegian explorer Erling Kagge spent fifty days walking...

Read more ›
The Year of Magical Thinking

The Year of Magical Thinking

From one of America’s iconic writers, a stunning book of electric honesty and passion. Joan Didion explores an intensely personal yet universal experience: a portrait of a marriage–and...

Read more ›
Tiny Beautiful Things

Tiny Beautiful Things

This bestselling book from the author of Wild collects the best of The Rumpus's Dear Sugar advice columns plus never-before-published pieces. Rich with humor, insight, compassion—and...

Read more ›
A Million Little Pieces

A Million Little Pieces

A story of drug and alcohol abuse and rehabilitation as it has never been told before. Recounted in visceral, kinetic prose, and crafted with a forthrightness that rejects piety, cynicism, and self-pity, it brings us face-to-face with a...

Read more ›
Word Power Made Easy

Word Power Made Easy

The most effective vocabulary builder in the English language provides a simple, step-by-step method that will increase your knowledge and mastery of written and spoken English. Word...

Read more ›
Zen Golf

Zen Golf

The best players know that golf is a game of confidence, and most important, concentration–the ability to focus and block out distraction. The goal of achieving clear thought is also at the heart...

Read more ›
Touching the Dragon

Touching the Dragon

From former special ops Navy SEAL senior chief; master naval parachutist (four Bronze Stars with Valor, Navy and Marine Corps Medal recipient, etc.); fighter in 150 missions (Iraq, Afghanistan,...

Read more ›
How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are

How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are

From four stunning and accomplished French women -- at last -- a fresh and spirited take on what it really means to be a Parisienne: how they dress, entertain, have fun and attempt to behave themselves. In...

Read more ›
The Precious Present

The Precious Present

Discover the precious present and find yourself!A simple story, engagingly told, The Precious Present does more than capture the heart; it is a valuable gift for anyone seeking a deeper level...

Read more ›
Learned Optimism

Learned Optimism

National BestsellerThe father of the new science of positive psychology and author of Authentic Happiness draws on more than twenty years of clinical research to...

Read more ›
The Fifth Trimester

The Fifth Trimester

The Fifth Trimester is your new best friend: a brilliant, tells-it-like-it-is guide that helps moms cope with the demands of the real world after the baby arrives The first three trimesters (and...

Read more ›
The Gift

The Gift

“A manifesto of sorts for anyone who makes art [and] cares for it.” —Zadie Smith“The best book I know of for talented but unacknowledged creators. . . . A masterpiece.” —Margaret...

Read more ›
Stumbling on Happiness

Stumbling on Happiness

Bringing to life scientific research in psychology, cognitive neuroscience, philosophy, and behavioral economics, this bestselling book reveals what scientists have discovered about the uniquely human ability to imagine the...

Read more ›
The Way of Zen

The Way of Zen

The Way of Zen begins as a succinct guide through the histories of Buddhism and Taoism leading up to the development of Zen Buddhism, which drew deeply from both traditions.  It...

Read more ›
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

In December 1995, Jean-Dominique Bauby, the 43-year-old editor of French Elle, suffered a massive stroke that left him permanently paralyzed, a victim of “locked in syndrome.”...

Read more ›
How to Be a Person in the World

How to Be a Person in the World

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller*For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author...

Read more ›
Behold the Spirit

Behold the Spirit

Just as groundbreaking today as it was when it first appeared, Behold the Spirit is philosopher Alan Watts’s timeless argument for the place of mystical religion in today’s...

Read more ›
The Book

The Book

In The Book, Alan Watts provides us with a much-needed answer to the problem of personal identity, distilling and adapting the Hindu philosophy of Vedanta....

Read more ›
New Year, Same Trash

New Year, Same Trash

Comedian, blogger and essayist Samantha Irby is not going to be a better person this year than she was last. Nope. With a small group of woo-woo others, Irby sets seventy micro-resolutions,...

Read more ›
Find a Way

Find a Way

Hillary Clinton said that Find a Way would stay with her through the general election:  “When you’re facing big challenges in your life, you can...

Read more ›
Musicophilia

Musicophilia

Revised and ExpandedWith the same trademark compassion and erudition he brought to The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat, Oliver Sacks explores the place music occupies in the brain...

Read more ›

Load more