Self-Help

Designing Your Life

Designing Your Life

#1 New York Times Bestseller  At last, a book that shows you how to build—design—a life you can thrive in, at any age or stage  Designers create worlds and solve problems using design...

Read more ›
Brave Enough

Brave Enough

National Best SellerFrom the best-selling author of Wild, a collection of quotes--drawn from the wide range of her writings--that capture her wisdom, courage, and outspoken humor, presented...

Read more ›
The Wisdom of Insecurity

The Wisdom of Insecurity

We live in an age of unprecedented anxiety. Spending all our time trying to anticipate and plan for the future and to lamenting the past, we forget to embrace the here and...

Read more ›
Tiny Beautiful Things

Tiny Beautiful Things

This bestselling book from the author of Wild collects the best of The Rumpus's Dear Sugar advice columns plus never-before-published pieces. Rich with humor, insight, compassion—and...

Read more ›
How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are

How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are

From four stunning and accomplished French women -- at last -- a fresh and spirited take on what it really means to be a Parisienne: how they dress, entertain, have fun and attempt to behave themselves. In...

Read more ›
A Million Little Pieces

A Million Little Pieces

A story of drug and alcohol abuse and rehabilitation as it has never been told before. Recounted in visceral, kinetic prose, and crafted with a forthrightness that rejects piety, cynicism, and self-pity, it brings us face-to-face with a...

Read more ›
How to Be a Person in the World

How to Be a Person in the World

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller*For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author...

Read more ›
Word Power Made Easy

Word Power Made Easy

The most effective vocabulary builder in the English language provides a simple, step-by-step method that will increase your knowledge and mastery of written and spoken English. Word...

Read more ›
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

In 1995, Jean-Dominique Bauby was the editor-in-chief of French Elle, the father of two young childen, a 44-year-old man known and loved for his wit, his style, and his impassioned approach...

Read more ›
On My Own

On My Own

In a deeply personal and moving book, the beloved NPR radio host speaks out about the long drawn-out death (from Parkinson’s) of her husband of fifty-four years, and of her struggle...

Read more ›
Stumbling on Happiness

Stumbling on Happiness

Bringing to life scientific research in psychology, cognitive neuroscience, philosophy, and behavioral economics, this bestselling book reveals what scientists have discovered about the uniquely human ability to imagine the...

Read more ›
Learned Optimism

Learned Optimism

National BestsellerThe father of the new science of positive psychology and author of Authentic Happiness draws on more than twenty years of clinical research to...

Read more ›
The Gift

The Gift

By now a modern classic, The Gift is a brilliantly orchestrated defense of the value of creativity and of its importance in a culture increasingly governed by money...

Read more ›
The Precious Present

The Precious Present

Discover the precious present and find yourself!A simple story, engagingly told, The Precious Present does more than capture the heart; it is a valuable gift for anyone seeking a deeper level...

Read more ›
The Book

The Book

In The Book, Alan Watts provides us with a much-needed answer to the problem of personal identity, distilling and adapting the Hindu philosophy of Vedanta....

Read more ›
Find a Way

Find a Way

Hillary Clinton said that Find a Way would stay with her through the general election:  “When you’re facing big challenges in your life, you can...

Read more ›
The Way of Zen

The Way of Zen

The Way of Zen begins as a succinct guide through the histories of Buddhism and Taoism leading up to the development of Zen Buddhism, which drew deeply from both traditions.  It...

Read more ›
59 Seconds

59 Seconds

An easy-to-use, concise guide to changing your life in under a minute, backed by cutting-edge scientific research.Bestselling author and psychologist...

Read more ›
How Proust Can Change Your Life

How Proust Can Change Your Life

Alain de Botton combines two unlikely genres--literary biography and self-help manual--in the hilarious and unexpectedly practical How Proust Can Change Your Life.Who...

Read more ›
Musicophilia

Musicophilia

Revised and ExpandedWith the same trademark compassion and erudition he brought to The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat, Oliver Sacks explores the place music occupies in the brain...

Read more ›
The Inner Game of Music

The Inner Game of Music

By the best-selling co-author of Inner Tennis, here's a book designed to help  musicians overcome obstacles, help improve  concentration,...

Read more ›
Nature, Man and Woman

Nature, Man and Woman

In Nature, Man and Woman, philosopher Alan Watts reexamines humanity’s place in the natural world—and the relation between body and spirit—in...

Read more ›
The Art of Travel

The Art of Travel

Any Baedeker will tell us where we ought to travel, but only Alain de Botton will tell us how and why. With the same intelligence and insouciant charm he brought to How Proust Can Save...

Read more ›
Living a Life that Matters

Living a Life that Matters

In this bestselling work of spiritual advice, the beloved author shows how even our smallest daily actions can become stepping steps toward integrity. Drawing on the stories...

Read more ›

Load more