Self-Help

The Art of Noticing for Writers

The Art of Noticing for Writers

A Vintage Shorts selection.Becoming a first-class noticer is crucial to any creative process, but perhaps it is particularly crucial for a writer. In the era of white noise, when...

Read more ›
Long Way Home

Long Way Home

From the scion of Hollywood royalty--son of Michael Douglas, grandson of Kirk Douglas--a moving, often shocking, ultimately inspiring memoir detailing his struggle to regain his...

Read more ›
What If This Were Enough?

What If This Were Enough?

*A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2018**A Bustle Best Nonfiction Book of 2018**One of Chicago Tribune's Favorite Books by Women in 2018**A Self Best Book...

Read more ›
The Gift

The Gift

“A manifesto of sorts for anyone who makes art [and] cares for it.” —Zadie Smith“The best book I know of for talented but unacknowledged creators. . . . A masterpiece.” —Margaret...

Read more ›
The Art of Noticing

The Art of Noticing

An imaginative, thought-provoking gift book to awaken your senses and attune them to the things that matter in your life.Welcome to the era of white noise. Our lives...

Read more ›
Run for Your Life

Run for Your Life

“Dr. Cucuzzella is the most complete runner I know. . . . Most important, he aims to improve the fitness and well-being of all, from the uninitiated to beginners to veterans who still have new tricks to learn.” ...

Read more ›
Bella Figura

Bella Figura

“She walks down the street with a swing in her step and a lift to her head. She radiates allure as if followed by a personal spotlight. She may be tall or short, slim or pneumatically curvaceous, dressed discreetly or...

Read more ›
Walking

Walking

A lyrical account of an activity that is essential for our sanity, equilibrium, and well-being, from the author of Silence ("A book to be handled and savored." —The Wall...

Read more ›
Touching the Dragon

Touching the Dragon

“Jimmy Hatch is a personal hero of mine.” —Anderson Cooper “Irresistible. . . . A wounded SEAL’s shame becomes a salvation.”  —J....

Read more ›
The Efficiency Paradox

The Efficiency Paradox

A bold challenge to our obsession with efficiency—and a new understanding of how to benefit from the powerful potential of serendipity.Algorithms, multitasking,...

Read more ›
Silence

Silence

What is silence? Where can it be found? Why is it now more important than ever?   In this astonishing and transformative meditation, Erling Kagge,...

Read more ›
The Fifth Trimester

The Fifth Trimester

The first three trimesters (and the fourth—those blurry newborn days) are for the baby, but the Fifth Trimester is when the working mom is born. A funny, tells-it-like-it-is guide for new mothers...

Read more ›
How to Be a Person in the World

How to Be a Person in the World

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller*For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author...

Read more ›
Accompany Me

Accompany Me

In her deeply affecting and profound portrait of illness and how it can dramatically alter the fabric of our lives and our faith, Nora Gallagher depicts the process of alienation she experienced...

Read more ›
Ask Polly's Guide to Your Next Crisis

Ask Polly's Guide to Your Next Crisis

“Every crisis has a message for you, if you look for it. Every crisis carries with it some kind of a gift that will make you feel more whole.” From beloved advice-columnist...

Read more ›
How to Take Your Time

How to Take Your Time

Curiously practical—this no-nonsense blend of literary biography and self-help unravels how interesting life can be if only you could resist the impulse to rush through the mundane...

Read more ›
On My Own

On My Own

In a deeply personal and moving book, the beloved NPR radio host speaks out about the long drawn-out death (from Parkinson’s) of her husband of fifty-four years, and of her struggle...

Read more ›
New Year, Same Trash

New Year, Same Trash

Comedian, blogger and essayist Samantha Irby is not going to be a better person this year than she was last. Nope. With a small group of woo-woo others, Irby sets seventy micro-resolutions,...

Read more ›
Designing Your Life

Designing Your Life

#1 New York Times Bestseller  An inspiring and thought-provoking graduation gift: At last, a book that shows you how to build—design—a life you can thrive in, at any age or stage ...

Read more ›
Find a Way

Find a Way

Hillary Clinton said that Find a Way would stay with her through the general election:  “When you’re facing big challenges in your life, you can...

Read more ›
Little Victories

Little Victories

The Wall Street Journal's popular columnist Jason Gay delivers a hilarious and heartfelt guide to modern living. The book you hold in your hand is a rule book....

Read more ›
Brave Enough

Brave Enough

National Best SellerFrom the best-selling author of Wild, a collection of quotes--drawn from the wide range of her writings--that capture her wisdom, courage, and outspoken humor,...

Read more ›
How to Fly a Horse

How to Fly a Horse

As a technology pioneer at MIT and as the leader of three successful start-ups, Kevin Ashton experienced firsthand the all-consuming challenge of creating something new. Now, in...

Read more ›
Word Power Made Easy

Word Power Made Easy

The most effective vocabulary builder in the English language provides a simple, step-by-step method that will increase your knowledge and mastery of written and spoken English. Word...

Read more ›

Load more