Self-Help

Beginners

Beginners

The best-selling author of Traffic and You May Also Like now gives us a thought-provoking, playful journey into the transformative joys that come with starting something new,...

Read more ›
Ageless

Ageless

A startling chronicle by a brilliant young scientist takes us onto the frontiers of the science of aging, and reveals how close we are to an astonishing extension of our life spans and a...

Read more ›
Philosophy for Polar Explorers

Philosophy for Polar Explorers

A thoughtful, eloquent meditation on bringing adventure and exploration into your daily life, from the author of Silence and WalkingErling...

Read more ›
People Who Love to Eat Are Always the Best People

People Who Love to Eat Are Always the Best People

A charming, giftable collection of the beloved, best-selling author's inimitable quotes--her words of wisdom on love, life, and, of course, food."If...

Read more ›
Long Way Home

Long Way Home

From the scion of Hollywood royalty--son of Michael Douglas, grandson of Kirk Douglas--a moving, often shocking, ultimately inspiring memoir detailing his struggle to regain his...

Read more ›
Walking

Walking

Why do we walk? Where do we walk from? What is our destination?   Placing one foot in front of the other and embarking on the journey of discovery...

Read more ›
Designing Your Work Life

Designing Your Work Life

When Designing Your Life was published in 2016, Stanford’s Bill Burnett and Dave Evans taught readers how to use design thinking to build meaningful, fulfilling lives (“Life has...

Read more ›
How to Live a Good Life

How to Live a Good Life

A collection of essays by fifteen philosophers presenting a thoughtful, introductory guide to choosing a philosophy for living an examined and meaningful life. A VINTAGE ORIGINALSocrates...

Read more ›
Older, but Better, but Older

Older, but Better, but Older

From the bestselling authors of How to be Parisian, what smart, savvy, fabulous French women think, feel and advise as they hit forty on life, love, and everything elseOlder,...

Read more ›
The Art of Noticing for Writers

The Art of Noticing for Writers

A Vintage Shorts selection.Becoming a first-class noticer is crucial to any creative process, but perhaps it is particularly crucial for a writer. In the era of white noise, when...

Read more ›
What If This Were Enough?

What If This Were Enough?

*A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2018**A Bustle Best Nonfiction Book of 2018**One of Chicago Tribune's Favorite Books by Women in 2018**A Self Best Book...

Read more ›
The Gift

The Gift

“A manifesto of sorts for anyone who makes art [and] cares for it.” —Zadie Smith“The best book I know of for talented but unacknowledged creators. . . . A masterpiece.” —Margaret...

Read more ›
The Art of Noticing

The Art of Noticing

An imaginative, thought-provoking gift book to awaken your senses and attune them to the things that matter in your life.Welcome to the era of white noise. Our lives...

Read more ›
Run for Your Life

Run for Your Life

“Dr. Cucuzzella is the most complete runner I know. . . . Most important, he aims to improve the fitness and well-being of all, from the uninitiated to beginners to veterans who still have new tricks to learn.” ...

Read more ›
Bella Figura

Bella Figura

“She walks down the street with a swing in her step and a lift to her head. She radiates allure as if followed by a personal spotlight. She may be tall or short, slim or pneumatically curvaceous, dressed discreetly or...

Read more ›
Touching the Dragon

Touching the Dragon

“Jimmy Hatch is a personal hero of mine.” —Anderson Cooper “Irresistible. . . . A wounded SEAL’s shame becomes a salvation.”  —J....

Read more ›
The Efficiency Paradox

The Efficiency Paradox

A bold challenge to our obsession with efficiency—and a new understanding of how to benefit from the powerful potential of serendipity.Algorithms, multitasking,...

Read more ›
Silence

Silence

What is silence? Where can it be found? Why is it now more important than ever?   In this astonishing and transformative meditation, Erling Kagge,...

Read more ›
The Fifth Trimester

The Fifth Trimester

The first three trimesters (and the fourth—those blurry newborn days) are for the baby, but the Fifth Trimester is when the working mom is born. A funny, tells-it-like-it-is guide for new mothers...

Read more ›
How to Be a Person in the World

How to Be a Person in the World

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller*For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author...

Read more ›
Accompany Me

Accompany Me

In her deeply affecting and profound portrait of illness and how it can dramatically alter the fabric of our lives and our faith, Nora Gallagher depicts the process of alienation she experienced...

Read more ›
Ask Polly's Guide to Your Next Crisis

Ask Polly's Guide to Your Next Crisis

“Every crisis has a message for you, if you look for it. Every crisis carries with it some kind of a gift that will make you feel more whole.” From beloved advice-columnist...

Read more ›
How to Take Your Time

How to Take Your Time

Curiously practical—this no-nonsense blend of literary biography and self-help unravels how interesting life can be if only you could resist the impulse to rush through the mundane...

Read more ›
On My Own

On My Own

In a deeply personal and moving book, the beloved NPR radio host speaks out about the long drawn-out death (from Parkinson’s) of her husband of fifty-four years, and of her struggle...

Read more ›

Load more