Spirituality & Religion

Tiny Beautiful Things

Tiny Beautiful Things

Life can be hard: your lover cheats on you; you lose a family member; you can’t pay the bills—and it can be great: you’ve had the hottest sex of your life; you get that plum job;...

Read more ›
Gift from the Sea

Gift from the Sea

In this inimitable, beloved classic—graceful, lucid and lyrical—Anne Morrow Lindbergh shares her meditations on youth and age; love and marriage; peace, solitude and contentment as she set them down...

Read more ›
The Wisdom of Insecurity

The Wisdom of Insecurity

“Anyone whose life needs a course correction would be fortunate to be guided by The Wisdom of Insecurity. My life still is, some thirty years later." —Deepak Chopra,...

Read more ›
Under the Banner of Heaven

Under the Banner of Heaven

Jon Krakauer’s literary reputation rests on insightful chronicles of lives conducted at the outer limits. He now shifts his focus from extremes of physical adventure...

Read more ›
Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life

Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life

In this important and thought-provoking work, Karen Armstrong—one of the most original thinkers on the role of religion in the modern world—provides an impassioned and practical guide to helping us make the world...

Read more ›
When Bad Things Happen to Good People

When Bad Things Happen to Good People

When Harold Kushner’s three-year-old son was diagnosed with a degenerative disease and that he would only live until his early teens, he was faced with one of life’s most difficult questions: Why,...

Read more ›
Zen Golf

Zen Golf

The best players know that golf is a game of confidence, and most important, concentration–the ability to focus and block out distraction. The goal of achieving clear thought is also at the heart...

Read more ›
The Book

The Book

A witty attack on the illusion that the self is a separate ego that confronts a universe of alien physical objects.From the Trade Paperback edition....

Read more ›
Traveling Mercies

Traveling Mercies

Anne Lamott claims the two best prayers she knows are: "Help me, help me, help me" and "Thank you, thank you, thank you." She has a friend whose morning prayer each day is "Whatever," and whose evening...

Read more ›
Thomas Jefferson's Qur'an

Thomas Jefferson's Qur'an

In this original and illuminating book, Denise A. Spellberg reveals a little-known but crucial dimension of the story of American religious freedom—a drama in which Islam played a surprising...

Read more ›
The Sunflower

The Sunflower

While imprisoned in a Nazi concentration camp, Simon Wiesenthal was taken one day from his work detail to the bedside of a dying member of the SS. Haunted by the crimes in which he had participated,...

Read more ›
Letter to a Christian Nation

Letter to a Christian Nation

From the new afterword by the author:Humanity has had a long fascination with blood sacrifice. In fact, it has been by no means uncommon for a child to be born into...

Read more ›
The Gnostic Gospels

The Gnostic Gospels

A provocative study of the gnostic gospels and the world of early Christianity as revealed through the Nag Hammadi texts.

Read more ›
Cut Me Loose

Cut Me Loose

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her...

Read more ›
Religion for Atheists

Religion for Atheists

What if religions are neither all true nor all nonsense? Alain de Botton’s bold and provocative book argues that we can benefit from the wisdom and power of religion—without...

Read more ›
Joseph Smith

Joseph Smith

Founder of the largest indigenous Christian church in American history, Joseph Smith published the 584-page Book of Mormon when he was twenty-three and went on to organize a church, found cities, and attract...

Read more ›
The Ark Before Noah

The Ark Before Noah

The recent translation of a Babylonian tablet launches a groundbreaking investigation into one of the most famous stories in the world, challenging the way we look at ancient history....

Read more ›
After the Prophet

After the Prophet

In this gripping narrative history, Lesley Hazleton tells the tragic story at the heart of the ongoing rivalry between the Sunni and Shia branches of Islam, a rift that dominates the news...

Read more ›
The Happy Atheist

The Happy Atheist

“I’m an atheist swimming in a sea of superstition, surrounded by well-meaning, good people with whom I share a culture and similar concerns, and there’s only one thing I can do. I have...

Read more ›
The Collected Works

The Collected Works

(Book Jacket Status: Jacketed)For the first time, all the major works of this beloved writer are gathered together in one hardcover volume. Poet, artist, and mystic, Kahlil Gibran...

Read more ›
Going Clear

Going Clear

National Book Award Finalist A clear-sighted revelation, a deep penetration into the world of Scientology by the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Looming Tower, the...

Read more ›
The Lord Is My Shepherd

The Lord Is My Shepherd

Rabbi Harold Kushner believes that the Twenty-third Psalm--perhaps the most memorable and cherished chapter of the Bible--offers spiritual riches that can change...

Read more ›
The Prophet

The Prophet

Kahlil Gibran’s masterpiece, The Prophet, is one of the most beloved classics of our time. Published in 1923, it has been translated into more than twenty languages, and the American editions alone...

Read more ›

Load more