Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Everyman’s Library




Measure for Measure

Measure for Measure

This comprehensive and joyous celebration of metered verse brings together some of the best rhythmic lines in literature.After a century dominated by free verse, there is...

Read more ›
Jazz Poems

Jazz Poems

Ever since its first flowering, jazz has had a powerful influence on American poetry; this scintillating anthology offers a treasury of poems that are as varied and as vital as...

Read more ›
Nicholas Nickleby

Nicholas Nickleby

Charles Dickens had an understanding of mid-Victorian society second to none, and genius and energy massive enough to make the absurdities and terrors of that society come alive on the page. Nicholas...

Read more ›
New York Stories

New York Stories

An irresistible anthology of classic tales of New York in the tradition of Christmas Stories, Love Stories, and Stories of the Sea.Writers have...

Read more ›
Heart of Darkness

Heart of Darkness

In a novella which remains highly controversial to this day, Conrad explores the relations between Africa and Europe. On the surface, this is a horrifying tale of colonial exploitation. The narrator, Marlowe...

Read more ›
Bleak House

Bleak House

The complex story of a notorious law-suit in which love and inheritance are set against the classic urban background of 19th-century London, where fog on the river, seeping into the very...

Read more ›
Sons and Lovers

Sons and Lovers

Introduction by David Ellis The struggle for power at the heart of a family in conflict, the mysteries of sexual initiation, and the pain of irretrievable...

Read more ›
Little Lord Fauntleroy

Little Lord Fauntleroy

By the author of The Secret Garden, the 1886 story of a curly-haired American boy who suddenly discovers he is the grandson of an English earl.

Read more ›
The Cairo Trilogy

The Cairo Trilogy

 Naguib Mahfouz’s magnificent epic trilogy of colonial Egypt appears here in one volume for the first time. The Nobel Prize—winning writer’s masterwork is the engrossing story of...

Read more ›
The Return of the Native

The Return of the Native

Eustacia Vye longs to escape from Egdon Heath, but the man she chooses to save her longs to stay. Out of their struggle, the unfulfilled passion of his heroine, and the daily rhythms of...

Read more ›
Robinson Crusoe

Robinson Crusoe

This classic story of a shipwrecked mariner on a deserted island is perhaps the greatest adventure in all of English literature. Fleeing from pirates, Robinson Crusoe is...

Read more ›
The Light in the Forest

The Light in the Forest

An adventurous story of a frontier boy raised by Indians, The Light in the Forest is a beloved American classic.When John Cameron Butler...

Read more ›
Catch-22

Catch-22

One of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read and a highly touted Hulu series starring George Clooney, Christopher Abbott, Kyle Chandler,...

Read more ›
Little Dorrit

Little Dorrit

Amy Dorrit’s father is not very good with money. She was born in the Marshalsea debtors’ prison and has lived there with her family for all of her twenty-two years, only leaving during...

Read more ›
Poems of Paris

Poems of Paris

A beautiful hardcover Pocket Poets anthology of poems from across the ages inspired by the City of LightPerhaps no other European city has so captured the poetic...

Read more ›
Collected Shorter Fiction, Volume II

Collected Shorter Fiction, Volume II

Ranging in scope from lengthy novellas to fables and folktales only a few pages long, Leo Tolstoy’s short fiction provides a marvelous opportunity to become closely acquainted with Russia’s great novelist....

Read more ›
The Metamorphoses

The Metamorphoses

Ovid’s famous mock epic—a treasury of myth and magic that is one of the greatest literary works of classical antiquity—is rendered into fluidly poetic English by world-renowned...

Read more ›
The Koran

The Koran

While in the service of India’s Nizam of Hyderabad, Marmaduke Pickthall converted to Islam and, with the help of Muslim theologians and linguists, produced this clear and lovingly...

Read more ›
My Antonia

My Antonia

 Of Ántonia, the passionate and majestic central character in Willa Cather’s greatest novel, the narrator, Jim Burden, says that she left “images in the...

Read more ›
Emerson: Poems

Emerson: Poems

Ralph Waldo Emerson is one of the best-loved figures in nineteenth-century American literature. Though he earned his central place in our culture as an essayist and philosopher,...

Read more ›
Emma

Emma

An Everyman’s Library edition of Jane Austen’s revolutionary and inspiring novel, which is once again a major motion picture. Twenty-one-year-old Emma Woodhouse...

Read more ›
The Border Trilogy

The Border Trilogy

Available together in one volume for the first time, the three novels of Cormac McCarthy's award-winning and bestselling Border Trilogy constitute a genuine American epic. Beginning...

Read more ›
The Complete Stories

The Complete Stories

Edgar Allan Poe’s gift for the macabre–his genius in finding the strangeness lurking at the heart of things–was so extraordinary that he exerted a major...

Read more ›
Nostromo

Nostromo

Joseph Conrad’s foresight and his ability to distill human adventure from complex historical circumstances were so keen that his greatest novel, Nostromo—though more...

Read more ›

Load more