Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Nan A. Talese




The Jazz Palace

The Jazz Palace

Acclaimed author Mary Morris returns to her Chicago roots in this sweeping novel that brilliantly captures the dynamic atmosphere and the dazzling music of the Jazz Age.      In...

Read more ›
Killer, Come Hither

Killer, Come Hither

From the master observer of upper-crust New York life comes a sly, pacey international thriller ranging from the suites of an elite Manhattan law firm to the tidy elegance of Sag Harbor...

Read more ›
Hissing Cousins

Hissing Cousins

A lively and provocative double biography of first cousins Eleanor Roosevelt and Alice Roosevelt Longworth, two extraordinary women whose tangled lives provide a sweeping look at the twentieth century. When...

Read more ›
Ravensbruck

Ravensbruck

A masterly and moving account of the most horrific hidden atrocity of World War II: Ravensbrück, the only Nazi concentration camp built for women  On a sunny morning in...

Read more ›
The Partnership

The Partnership

Among the most creative and outsized personalities of the Weimar Republic, that sizzling yet decadent epoch between the Great War and the Nazis' rise to power, were the renegade poet Bertolt...

Read more ›
David Hockney

David Hockney

In this fascinating and entertaining second volume, Christopher Simon Sykes explores the life and work of Britain's most popular living artist. David Hockney...

Read more ›
Charlie Chaplin

Charlie Chaplin

A brief yet definitive new biography of one of film's greatest legends: perfect for readers who want to know more about the iconic star but who don't want to commit to a...

Read more ›
Isabella

Isabella

An engrossing and revolutionary biography of Isabella of Castile, the controversial Queen of Spain who sponsored Christopher Columbus's journey to the New World, established...

Read more ›
The Lost Book of Mormon

The Lost Book of Mormon

Is the Book of Mormon the Great American Novel? Decades before Melville and Twain composed their great works, a farmhand and child seer named Joseph Smith unearthed a long-buried book from a haunted hill in western New York State that...

Read more ›
I Stand Corrected

I Stand Corrected

A fascinating fusion of memoir, manners, and cultural history from a successful businesswoman well versed in the unique challenges of working in contemporary China.During...

Read more ›
Stone Mattress

Stone Mattress

A collection of highly imaginative short pieces that speak to our times with deadly accuracy. Vintage Atwood creativity, intelligence, and humor: think Alias Grace.Margaret...

Read more ›
The Children Act

The Children Act

Fiona Maye is a leading High Court judge who presides over cases in the family court. She is renowned for her fierce intelligence, exactitude, and sensitivity. But her...

Read more ›
I Am China

I Am China

Rock 'n' roll, revolution, and romance are seductively woven together in this intense and moving novel from the author of Twenty Fragments of a Ravenous Youth In...

Read more ›
Decompression

Decompression

A psychological thriller in the tradition of Patricia Highsmith about two couples caught in a web of conflicting passions while deep-sea diving off the beautiful Canary IslandsIn...

Read more ›
Tell Me One Thing

Tell Me One Thing

A collection of unforgettable short stories that explores the wondrous transformation between grief and hope, a journey often marked by moments of unexpected grace.Set...

Read more ›
The Ark Before Noah

The Ark Before Noah

The recent translation of a Babylonian tablet launches a groundbreaking investigation into one of the most famous stories in the world, challenging the way we look at ancient history....

Read more ›
The Anatomy Lesson

The Anatomy Lesson

Set in one day in 1632, The Anatomy Lesson is a stunning portrayal of Golden Age Amsterdam and a brilliantly imagined back-story to Rembrandt's first great...

Read more ›
Three Brothers

Three Brothers

Rapier-sharp, witty, intriguing, and mysterious: a new novel from Peter Ackroyd set in the London of the 1960s. Three Brothers follows the fortunes...

Read more ›
The Ghost of the Mary Celeste

The Ghost of the Mary Celeste

A captivating, atmospheric return to historical fiction that is every bit as convincing and engrossing as Martin's landmark Mary Reilly. In 1872 the American merchant vessel Mary Celeste...

Read more ›
Cut Me Loose

Cut Me Loose

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her...

Read more ›
You Disappear

You Disappear

A riveting psychological drama that challenges the way we understand others—and our own sense of selfMia is a schoolteacher in Denmark. Her husband, Frederik,...

Read more ›
All the Time in the World

All the Time in the World

Entertaining, unexpected, and full of charm, the follow-up to Jessica Kerwin Jenkins’s Encyclopedia of the Exquisite presents a miscellany of engaging stories, detailing the intriguing customs, traditions,...

Read more ›
The Death of Santini

The Death of Santini

In this powerful and intimate memoir, the beloved bestselling author of The Prince of Tides and his father, the inspiration for The Great Santini, find some common ground at long last.Pat...

Read more ›
Heretics and Heroes

Heretics and Heroes

From the inimitable bestselling author Thomas Cahill, another popular history—this one focusing on how the innovations of the Renaissance and the Reformation changed...

Read more ›

Load more