Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Nan A. Talese




The Children Act

The Children Act

Fiona Maye is a leading High Court judge who presides over cases in the family court. She is renowned for her fierce intelligence, exactitude, and sensitivity. But her...

Read more ›
I Am China

I Am China

Rock 'n' roll, revolution, and romance are seductively woven together in this intense and moving novel from the author of Twenty Fragments of a Ravenous Youth In...

Read more ›
Decompression

Decompression

A psychological thriller in the tradition of Patricia Highsmith about two couples caught in a web of conflicting passions while deep-sea diving off the beautiful Canary IslandsIn...

Read more ›
Tell Me One Thing

Tell Me One Thing

A collection of unforgettable short stories that explores the wondrous transformation between grief and hope, a journey often marked by moments of unexpected grace.Set...

Read more ›
The Ark Before Noah

The Ark Before Noah

The recent translation of a Babylonian tablet launches a groundbreaking investigation into one of the most famous stories in the world, challenging the way we look at ancient history....

Read more ›
The Anatomy Lesson

The Anatomy Lesson

Set in one day in 1632, The Anatomy Lesson is a stunning portrayal of Golden Age Amsterdam and a brilliantly imagined back-story to Rembrandt's first great...

Read more ›
Three Brothers

Three Brothers

Rapier-sharp, witty, intriguing, and mysterious: a new novel from Peter Ackroyd set in the London of the 1960s. Three Brothers follows the fortunes...

Read more ›
The Ghost of the Mary Celeste

The Ghost of the Mary Celeste

A captivating, atmospheric return to historical fiction that is every bit as convincing and engrossing as Martin's landmark Mary Reilly. In 1872 the American merchant vessel Mary Celeste...

Read more ›
Cut Me Loose

Cut Me Loose

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her...

Read more ›
You Disappear

You Disappear

A riveting psychological drama that challenges the way we understand others—and our own sense of selfMia is a schoolteacher in Denmark. Her husband, Frederik,...

Read more ›
All the Time in the World

All the Time in the World

Entertaining, unexpected, and full of charm, the follow-up to Jessica Kerwin Jenkins’s Encyclopedia of the Exquisite presents a miscellany of engaging stories, detailing the intriguing customs, traditions,...

Read more ›
The Death of Santini

The Death of Santini

In this powerful and intimate memoir, the beloved bestselling author of The Prince of Tides and his father, the inspiration for The Great Santini, find some common ground at long last.Pat...

Read more ›
Heretics and Heroes

Heretics and Heroes

From the inimitable bestselling author Thomas Cahill, another popular history—this one focusing on how the innovations of the Renaissance and the Reformation changed...

Read more ›
Dancing with the Enemy

Dancing with the Enemy

The gripping story of the author’s aunt, a Jewish dance instructor who was betrayed to the Nazis by the two men she loved, yet managed to survive WWII by teaching dance lessons to...

Read more ›
MaddAddam

MaddAddam

A New York Times Notable BookA Washington Post Notable BookA Best Book of the Year: The Guardian, NPR, The Christian Science Monitor, The Globe and MailA GoodReads Reader's ChoiceBringing...

Read more ›
Sydney and Violet

Sydney and Violet

A long overdue biography of the power couple that nurtured and influenced the literary world of early twentieth-century England "I write primarily to pay homage to a beloved friend, but also...

Read more ›
Scissors

Scissors

Based on the life of the great short-story writer Raymond Carver, particularly his last ten years, Scissors is a funny, compassionate, and convincing portrayal of the creative...

Read more ›
On the Come Up

On the Come Up

Based on a true story, an impassioned and propulsive debut novel about a headstrong girl from Far Rockaway, Queens, who is trying to find her place in the worldWritten in an...

Read more ›
Memories of a Marriage

Memories of a Marriage

From the author of Wartime Lies and About Schmidt, an irresistibly entertaining novel about a man struggling to understand his friends' seemingly charmed...

Read more ›
A Nearly Perfect Copy

A Nearly Perfect Copy

Richly drawn and sharply observed, A Nearly Perfect Copy is a smart and affecting novel of family and forgery set amidst the rarefied international art world. Elm...

Read more ›
Of Tigers and Men

Of Tigers and Men

We have entered the age of extinction. Soon many of the animal kingdom’s most extraordinary creatures will no longer roman free, hunted and hounded out of existence—including...

Read more ›
Saul Steinberg

Saul Steinberg

From National Book Award winner Deirdre Bair, the definitive biography of Saul Steinberg, one of The New Yorker's most iconic artists. The issue date was March...

Read more ›
Sweet Tooth

Sweet Tooth

In this stunning new novel, Ian McEwan’s first female protagonist since Atonement is about to learn that espionage is the ultimate seduction.Cambridge...

Read more ›
Medea

Medea

Medea is among the most notorious women in the canon of Greek tragedy: a woman scorned who sacrifices her own children to her jealous rage. In her gripping new novel, Christa Wolf explodes...

Read more ›

Load more