Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Nan A. Talese




Newton

Newton

When Newton was not yet twenty-five years old, he formulated calculus, hit upon the idea of gravity, and discovered that white light was made up of all the colors of the spectrum. By 1678, Newton designed a telescope...

Read more ›
Breaking News

Breaking News

Famous for his nearly forty years in broadcast journalism, Robert MacNeil is one of the most respected television journalists in America. Now in Breaking News, a blistering,...

Read more ›
The Partnership

The Partnership

Among the most creative and outsized personalities of the Weimar Republic, that sizzling yet decadent epoch between the Great War and the Nazis' rise to power, were the renegade poet Bertolt...

Read more ›
The Pat Conroy Cookbook

The Pat Conroy Cookbook

“This book is the story of my life as it relates to the subject of food. It is my autobiography in food and meals and restaurants and countries far and near. Let me take you to a restaurant on the Left Bank...

Read more ›
No Place For Heroes

No Place For Heroes

From one of the most accomplished writers to emerge from Latin America, No Place for Heroes is a darkly comic novel about a mother and son who return to Buenos Aires in search of her former lover, whom she met during Argentina’s...

Read more ›
My Losing Season

My Losing Season

PAT CONROYAMERICA’S MOST BELOVED STORYTELLERIS BACK!“I was born to be a point guard, but not a very good one. . . .There was a time in...

Read more ›
Notes on a Life

Notes on a Life

Eleanor Coppola shares her extraordinary life as an artist, filmmaker, wife, and mother in a book that captures the glamour and grit of Hollywood and reveals the private tragedies and joys that tested and strengthened...

Read more ›
The Anatomy Lesson

The Anatomy Lesson

Set in one day in 1632, The Anatomy Lesson is a stunning portrayal of Golden Age Amsterdam and a brilliantly imagined back-story to Rembrandt's first great...

Read more ›
The Ruby in Her Navel

The Ruby in Her Navel

Set in the Middle Ages during the brief yet glittering rule of the Norman kings, The Ruby in Her Navel is a tale in which the conflicts of the past portend the present....

Read more ›
House Arrest

House Arrest

In superbly crafted prose, Mary Morris captures the drama—and danger—in the everyday and on the road.  In her novels, short stories, and travel memoirs, including the acclaimed Nothing...

Read more ›
A River Town

A River Town

Fleeing to Australia to escape the repressive life of British-controlled Ireland, Tim Shea is alarmed by his new home's equally stifling social order and its inclination...

Read more ›
Cut Me Loose

Cut Me Loose

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her...

Read more ›
I Am China

I Am China

Rock 'n' roll, revolution, and romance are seductively woven together in this intense and moving novel from the author of Twenty Fragments of a Ravenous Youth In...

Read more ›
Hissing Cousins

Hissing Cousins

A lively and provocative double biography of first cousins Eleanor Roosevelt and Alice Roosevelt Longworth, two extraordinary women whose tangled lives provide a sweeping look at the twentieth century. When...

Read more ›
Ravensbruck

Ravensbruck

A masterly and moving account of the most horrific hidden atrocity of World War II: Ravensbrück, the only Nazi concentration camp built for women  On a sunny morning in...

Read more ›
The Quality of Mercy

The Quality of Mercy

Barry Unsworth returns to the terrain of his Booker Prize-winning novel Sacred Hunger, this time following Sullivan, the Irish fiddler, and Erasmus Kemp, son of a Liverpool slave ship owner who hanged...

Read more ›
Looking for My Country

Looking for My Country

Renowned journalist and author of the international bestseller Wordstruck, Robert MacNeil reflects on a life lived between nations, and why he finally decided to call himself an American.Growing up in Halifax during World War II, it seemed...

Read more ›
Great Political Wit

Great Political Wit

Famous for his delectably dry humor, Senator Bob Dole brings us the ultimate bipartisan book: some of his favorite witticisms, hilarious remarks, and wry observations of the great political figures of this century.Bob Dole's political...

Read more ›
J.M.W. Turner

J.M.W. Turner

In this second volume in the Ackroyd’s Brief Lives series, bestselling author Peter Ackroyd brings us a man of humble beginnings, crude manners, and prodigious talents, the nineteenth-century painter J....

Read more ›
Of Tigers and Men

Of Tigers and Men

We have entered the age of extinction. Soon many of the animal kingdom’s most extraordinary creatures will no longer roman free, hunted and hounded out of existence—including...

Read more ›
Sweet Tooth

Sweet Tooth

In this stunning new novel, Ian McEwan’s first female protagonist since Atonement is about to learn that espionage is the ultimate seduction.Cambridge...

Read more ›
Killer, Come Hither

Killer, Come Hither

From the master observer of upper-crust New York life comes a sly, pacey international thriller ranging from the suites of an elite Manhattan law firm to the tidy elegance of Sag Harbor...

Read more ›
The Other Side of Israel

The Other Side of Israel

In 2003, Susan Nathan moved from her comfortable home in Tel Aviv to Tamra, an Arab town in the northern part of Israel. Nathan had arrived in Israel four years earlier and had taught English...

Read more ›
WALL TO WALL

WALL TO WALL

Following her celebrated Nothing to Declare:  Memoirs of a Woman Traveling Alone, Mary Morris, still alone, still graced with her extraordinary gifts of narrative and observation,...

Read more ›

Load more