Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Nan A. Talese




The Bedside Book of Beasts

The Bedside Book of Beasts

In a wonderfully diverse selection of writings and gorgeous illustrations, this stunning companion to The Bedside Book of Birds explores the relationship between predators and their prey.The...

Read more ›
Saul Steinberg

Saul Steinberg

From National Book Award winner Deirdre Bair, the definitive biography of Saul Steinberg, one of The New Yorker's most iconic artists. The issue date was March...

Read more ›
A Woman of the Inner Sea

A Woman of the Inner Sea

Woman of the Inner Sea is Thomas Keneally’s strongest, most compelling work since his Booker Prize-winning Schindler’s List. Like that book, the story of Woman...

Read more ›
Great Political Wit

Great Political Wit

Famous for his delectably dry humor, Senator Bob Dole brings us the ultimate bipartisan book: some of his favorite witticisms, hilarious remarks, and wry observations of the great political figures of this century.Bob Dole's political...

Read more ›
Shameless Exploitation in Pursuit of the Common Good

Shameless Exploitation in Pursuit of the Common Good

“There are three rules for running a business; fortunately, we don’t know any of them.”In 1978, Paul Newman and A. E. Hotchner...

Read more ›
Sweet Tooth

Sweet Tooth

In this stunning new novel, Ian McEwan’s first female protagonist since Atonement is about to learn that espionage is the ultimate seduction.Cambridge...

Read more ›
The Children Act

The Children Act

Fiona Maye is a leading High Court judge who presides over cases in the family court. She is renowned for her fierce intelligence, exactitude, and sensitivity. But her...

Read more ›
I Am China

I Am China

Rock 'n' roll, revolution, and romance are seductively woven together in this intense and moving novel from the author of Twenty Fragments of a Ravenous Youth In...

Read more ›
Remember Me When I'm Gone

Remember Me When I'm Gone

“Show me Heaven! I have seen hell.” —Patricia NealLarry King, world-famous radio and television personality, has asked the talented, the beautiful,...

Read more ›
The Death of Santini

The Death of Santini

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.   Pat Conroy’s great success as a writer has always been intimately linked with the exploration of his family history. As the oldest of seven children who were dragged from military base to military base...

Read more ›
The Lost Book of Mormon

The Lost Book of Mormon

Is the Book of Mormon the Great American Novel? Decades before Melville and Twain composed their great works, a farmhand and child seer named Joseph Smith unearthed a long-buried book from a haunted hill in western New York State that...

Read more ›
Notes on a Life

Notes on a Life

Eleanor Coppola shares her extraordinary life as an artist, filmmaker, wife, and mother in a book that captures the glamour and grit of Hollywood and reveals the private tragedies and joys that tested and strengthened...

Read more ›
The Fourth Treasure

The Fourth Treasure

Illustrated throughout with beautiful calligraphy, The Fourth Treasure is an original, surprising novel that weaves a suspenseful love story across and through two very different countries, cultures, and generations.Tina...

Read more ›
Sydney and Violet

Sydney and Violet

A long overdue biography of the power couple that nurtured and influenced the literary world of early twentieth-century England "I write primarily to pay homage to a beloved friend, but also...

Read more ›
Dangerous Muse

Dangerous Muse

Caroline Blackwood was born into the Guinness family in 1931, the daughter of the Fourth Marquess and Marchioness of Dufferin and Ava. Brought up on the ancestral estate in Northern Ireland, Blackwood moved easily among the Anglo-Irish aristocracy,...

Read more ›
David Hockney

David Hockney

Drawing on exclusive and unprecedented access to David Hockney’s extensive archives, notebooks, and paintings, interviews with family, friends, and on Hockney himself, Christopher Simon Sykes provides a colorful and intimate portrait of one of the most influential...

Read more ›
The Ruby in Her Navel

The Ruby in Her Navel

Set in the Middle Ages during the brief yet glittering rule of the Norman kings, The Ruby in Her Navel is a tale in which the conflicts of the past portend the present....

Read more ›
The Tyrant's Novel

The Tyrant's Novel

Thomas Keneally’s literary achievements have been inspired by some of history’s most intriguing events and characters, but in a rare reversal of time his brilliantly imagined new novel takes us into...

Read more ›
Medea

Medea

Medea is among the most notorious women in the canon of Greek tragedy: a woman scorned who sacrifices her own children to her jealous rage. In her gripping new novel, Christa Wolf explodes...

Read more ›
Memories of a Marriage

Memories of a Marriage

From the author of Wartime Lies and About Schmidt, an irresistibly entertaining novel about a man struggling to understand his friends' seemingly charmed...

Read more ›
A River Town

A River Town

Fleeing to Australia to escape the repressive life of British-controlled Ireland, Tim Shea is alarmed by his new home's equally stifling social order and its inclination...

Read more ›
Cut Me Loose

Cut Me Loose

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her...

Read more ›
The Ghost of the Mary Celeste

The Ghost of the Mary Celeste

A captivating, atmospheric return to historical fiction that is every bit as convincing and engrossing as Martin's landmark Mary Reilly. In 1872 the American merchant vessel Mary Celeste...

Read more ›
The Lifeguard

The Lifeguard

It was with her stories that Mary Morris first won attention and acclaim: her first collection, Vanishing Animals, received the prestigious Rome Prize, and her second, The Bus of Dreams,...

Read more ›

Load more