Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Nan A. Talese




Shameless Exploitation in Pursuit of the Common Good

Shameless Exploitation in Pursuit of the Common Good

“There are three rules for running a business; fortunately, we don’t know any of them.”In 1978, Paul Newman and A. E. Hotchner...

Read more ›
I Stand Corrected

I Stand Corrected

A fascinating fusion of memoir, manners, and cultural history from a successful businesswoman well versed in the unique challenges of working in contemporary China.During...

Read more ›
Tell Me One Thing

Tell Me One Thing

A collection of unforgettable short stories that explores the wondrous transformation between grief and hope, a journey often marked by moments of unexpected grace.Set...

Read more ›
Atonement

Atonement

On the hottest day of the summer of 1935, thirteen-year-old Briony Tallis sees her older sister Cecilia strip off her clothes and plunge into the fountain in the garden of their country house. Watching...

Read more ›
Sydney and Violet

Sydney and Violet

A long overdue biography of the power couple that nurtured and influenced the literary world of early twentieth-century England "I write primarily to pay homage to a beloved friend, but also...

Read more ›
House Arrest

House Arrest

In superbly crafted prose, Mary Morris captures the drama—and danger—in the everyday and on the road.  In her novels, short stories, and travel memoirs, including the acclaimed Nothing...

Read more ›
Poe

Poe

Gothic, mysterious, theatrical, fatally flawed, and dazzling, the life of Edgar Allan Poe, one of America’s greatest and most versatile writers, is the ideal subject...

Read more ›
Memories of a Marriage

Memories of a Marriage

From the author of Wartime Lies and About Schmidt, an irresistibly entertaining novel about a man struggling to understand his friends' seemingly charmed...

Read more ›
The Ruby in Her Navel

The Ruby in Her Navel

Set in the Middle Ages during the brief yet glittering rule of the Norman kings, The Ruby in Her Navel is a tale in which the conflicts of the past portend the present....

Read more ›
Breaking News

Breaking News

Famous for his nearly forty years in broadcast journalism, Robert MacNeil is one of the most respected television journalists in America. Now in Breaking News, a blistering,...

Read more ›
Sweet Tooth

Sweet Tooth

In this stunning new novel, Ian McEwan’s first female protagonist since Atonement is about to learn that espionage is the ultimate seduction.Cambridge...

Read more ›
Ravensbruck

Ravensbruck

A masterly and moving account of the most horrific hidden atrocity of World War II: Ravensbrück, the only Nazi concentration camp built for women  On a sunny morning in...

Read more ›
Cut Me Loose

Cut Me Loose

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her...

Read more ›
The Bedside Book of Birds

The Bedside Book of Birds

In this stunning assemblage of words and images, novelist and avid birdwatcher Graeme Gibson has crafted an extraordinary tribute to the venerable relationship between humans and birds.Birds have ever been the symbols of...

Read more ›
Isabella

Isabella

An engrossing and revolutionary biography of Isabella of Castile, the controversial Queen of Spain who sponsored Christopher Columbus's journey to the New World, established...

Read more ›
Killer, Come Hither

Killer, Come Hither

From the master observer of upper-crust New York life comes a sly, pacey international thriller ranging from the suites of an elite Manhattan law firm to the tidy elegance of Sag Harbor...

Read more ›
Notes on a Life

Notes on a Life

Eleanor Coppola shares her extraordinary life as an artist, filmmaker, wife, and mother in a book that captures the glamour and grit of Hollywood and reveals the private tragedies and joys that tested and strengthened...

Read more ›
A River Town

A River Town

Fleeing to Australia to escape the repressive life of British-controlled Ireland, Tim Shea is alarmed by his new home's equally stifling social order and its inclination...

Read more ›
Decompression

Decompression

A psychological thriller in the tradition of Patricia Highsmith about two couples caught in a web of conflicting passions while deep-sea diving off the beautiful Canary IslandsIn...

Read more ›
The Other Side of Israel

The Other Side of Israel

In 2003, Susan Nathan moved from her comfortable home in Tel Aviv to Tamra, an Arab town in the northern part of Israel. Nathan had arrived in Israel four years earlier and had taught English...

Read more ›
A Woman of the Inner Sea

A Woman of the Inner Sea

Woman of the Inner Sea is Thomas Keneally’s strongest, most compelling work since his Booker Prize-winning Schindler’s List. Like that book, the story of Woman...

Read more ›
Wrecking Yard

Wrecking Yard

A collection of short stories which illuminate, with imagery and humour, the darkest corners of the American soul. The author attempts to capture the personalities...

Read more ›
Do You Speak American?

Do You Speak American?

Is American English in decline? Are regional dialects dying out? Is there a difference between men and women in how they adapt to linguistic variations?These questions, and more, about our language catapulted Robert MacNeil and William Cran—the authors (with Robert McCrum) of the language classic The Story of English—across the country in...

Read more ›
Everything

Everything

In taut, exquisite prose, Kevin Canty explores the largest themes of life—work, love, death, destruction, rebirth—in the middle of the everyday. On the...

Read more ›

Load more