Skip to content


Schocken Books

Schocken Books, founded by Salman Schocken in Germany in 1931, began publishing in the United States in 1945 and became part of Random House in 1987. It is committed to identifying and amplifying the work of Jewish authors and authors writing about Jewish culture, religion, and history. Schocken’s list includes giants of Judaica and Jewish culture, including S. Y. Agnon, Sholem Aleichem, Aharon Appelfeld, Hannah Arendt, Martin Buber, Mark Russ Federman, Tikva Frymer-Kensky, Franz Kafka, Ben Katchor, Francine Klagsbrun, Harold S. Kushner, Paula Polk Lillard, Deborah Lipstadt, Joan Nathan, Rabbi Jonathan Sacks, Gershom Scholem, Meir Shalev, Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz, Elie Wiesel, Simon Wiesenthal, Lori Zabar, and Avivah Gottlieb Zornberg.

Meet the Team

Deb Garrison

Executive Editor

Deb Garrison, formerly an editor at The New Yorker, and author of the bestselling poetry collection A Working Girl Can’t Win, joined book publishing in 2000 as the poetry editor of Knopf and a senior editor at Pantheon Books. Her areas of interest include poetry, literary fiction, biography, and books of Jewish interest. Among her authors are Heather Clark, Catherine Cohen, Alex Dimitrov, David Grossman, Chris Heath, Edward Hirsch, Robin Coste Lewis, Sharon Olds, Joseph O’Neill, Meir Shalev, and Jonathan Wilson; she also works with the literary estates of Frank O’Hara, Oliver Sacks, and John Updike.  

Knopf Doubleday