The Bread of Angels by Stephanie Saldaña

The Bread of Angels is a gorgeous memoir of a young woman’s year as a Fulbright scholar in Damascus, where she studied the Muslim Jesus, fled to an ancient desert monastery to heal her past, and unexpectedly found herself in love with a French novice monk. This unforgettable memoir—on sale February 9—celebrates the beauty of faith, the necessity of self-discovery, and the possibility of true love.

Here Stephanie Saldaña discusses her inspiration for writing The Bread of Angels:

Video Title

Click here for the reading group guide.

Praise for The Bread of Angels:

“An Eat, Pray, Love for the intellectual set, Saldaña’s beautiful memoir should not be missed.”Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“A beautifully woven exploration of language and spirituality.”—Kirkus Reviews

“A remarkable, wise, and lovely book from a truly gifted new writer, The Bread of Angels brims with originality and insight. There is poetry here—the language and the depth of attention recall the young Annie Dillard. But this is, above all, a love story, and a compelling one. Not many people can write transcendent, mystical prose and also create a page-turner that keeps you up nights. Stephanie Saldaña’s achievement is extraordinary.”—Geraldine Brooks, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of March

“In the tradition of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love, Stephanie Saldaña’s The Bread of Angels is a stunning memoir that is both a contemporary spiritual quest and a sweet, surprising love story . . . Carefully observed, beautifully detailed, structured like a ceremony, The Bread of Angels takes us from a fallen world into a luminous, resurrected one through faith and love and the exquisite skill of a fine writer who writes like an angel!”—Julia Alvarez, author of How the García Girls Lost Their Accents

“Brace yourself for an intense inner and outer journey. The Bread of Angels is a many-layered personal story, ricocheting from Damascus to Texas to the desert fathers to scruffy Cambridge. A passionate young scholar confronts war, love, the mysteries of language, and God. Stephanie Saldaña is up to the task. A brilliant debut.”—Frances Mayes, author of Under the Tuscan Sun

“A fragrant, elegantly observed journey that captures the dilapidated glory of Damascus and the resilient wit of its people. Saldaña’s tale of spiritual dislocation and self-discovery is remarkable for its poignancy and keen intelligence.”—Azadeh Moaveni, author of Lipstick Jihad and Honeymoon in Tehran

The Bread of Angels is dazzling, delicious, wise, brilliantly funny, endearing in every way. It is a love letter to the Middle East and to one’s own entire life, replete with doubt and fear, faith and deep connection. A masterpiece.”
—Naomi Shihab Nye, author of 19 Varieties of Gazelle: Poems of the Middle East