Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Knopf




The Dreamt Land

The Dreamt Land

A vivid, searching journey into California's capture of water and soil--an epic story of a people's defiance of nature and the wonders, and ruin, it has wroughtMark Arax is from a family of Central...

Read more ›
Where We Come From

Where We Come From

From the acclaimed author of Brownsville and Amigoland--a stunning and timely new novel about a Mexican American family in Brownsville, Texas, who reluctantly becomes involved in smuggling...

Read more ›
Ballpark

Ballpark

An exhilarating, splendidly illustrated, entirely new look at the history of baseball: told through the stories of the vibrant and ever-changing ballparks where the game was and...

Read more ›
The Den

The Den

A luminous, hypnotic story of youth, sex, and power that tells of two young women who find themselves ostracized from the same small New England community for the same reasons--though...

Read more ›
Disappearing Earth

Disappearing Earth

"Splendidly imagined . . . Thrilling" --Simon Winchester"A genuine masterpiece" --Gary ShteyngartSpellbinding, moving--evoking a fascinating region on the other side...

Read more ›
Eat Like a Fish

Eat Like a Fish

Part memoir, part manifesto, in Eat Like a Fish Bren Smith—a former commercial fisherman turned restorative ocean farmer—shares a bold new vision for the future of food: seaweed....

Read more ›
Once More We Saw Stars

Once More We Saw Stars

“A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.” --Cheryl StrayedFor readers of The Bright Hour and When...

Read more ›
Orange World and Other Stories

Orange World and Other Stories

From the Pulitzer Finalist and universally beloved author of the New York Times best sellers Swamplandia! and Vampires in the Lemon Grove, a stunning new collection...

Read more ›
The Scandal of the Century

The Scandal of the Century

From one of the titans of twentieth-century literature, collected here for the first time: a selection of his journalism from the late 1940s to the mid-1980s--work that he considered even...

Read more ›
The White Devil's Daughters

The White Devil's Daughters

A revelatory history of the trafficking of young Asian girls that flourished in San Francisco during the first hundred years of Chinese immigration (1848-1943) and an in-depth...

Read more ›
The Art of Noticing

The Art of Noticing

An imaginative, thought-provoking gift book to awaken your senses and attune them to the things that matter in your life.Welcome to the era of white noise. Our lives...

Read more ›
Exhalation

Exhalation

“The universe began as an enormous breath being held.” From the acclaimed author of Stories of Your Life and Others—the basis for the Academy Award –nominated...

Read more ›
The Flight Portfolio

The Flight Portfolio

The long-awaited new work from the best-selling author of The Invisible Bridge takes us back to occupied Europe in this gripping historical novel based on the true story of Varian...

Read more ›
Furious Hours

Furious Hours

The stunning story of an Alabama serial killer and the true-crime book that Harper Lee worked on obsessively in the years after To Kill a Mockingbird"A triumph on every level . . . Casey Cep...

Read more ›
Madhur Jaffrey's Instantly Indian Cookbook

Madhur Jaffrey's Instantly Indian Cookbook

Master Indian cooking at home with more than seventy recipes from the multi-James Beard Award–winning author who “introduced the world to Indian food” (Epicurious). For more than forty years, Madhur...

Read more ›
Our Man

Our Man

From the award-winning author of The Unwinding--the vividly told saga of the ambition, idealism, and hubris of one of the most legendary and complicated figures in recent...

Read more ›
Mama's Boy

Mama's Boy

This heartfelt, deeply personal memoir explores how one family built bridges across today’s great divides—and how our stories hold the power to heal. Dustin Lance...

Read more ›
Everything in Its Place

Everything in Its Place

From the best-selling author of Gratitude and On the Move, a final volume of essays that showcase Sacks's broad range of interests--from his passion for ferns, swimming,...

Read more ›
Autumn Light

Autumn Light

From one of our most astute observers of human nature, a far-reaching exploration of Japanese history and culture and a moving meditation on impermanence, mortality, and...

Read more ›
Possessed by Memory

Possessed by Memory

In arguably his most personal and lasting book, America's most daringly original and controversial critic gives us brief, luminous readings of more than eighty texts by canonical authors--...

Read more ›
Revolutionaries

Revolutionaries

In his second novel, the acclaimed author of The Sabotage Café leads us on a long, strange trip through the heart of the sixties and beyond, as...

Read more ›
White

White

Combining personal reflection and social observation, Bret Easton Ellis's first work of nonfiction is an incendiary polemic about this young century's failings, e-driven and otherwise, and at once an example, definition,...

Read more ›
Notes from a Young Black Chef

Notes from a Young Black Chef

“Standing on a strong autobiographical foundation, shot through with self-awareness and studded with (delicious) recipes, Kwame Onwuachi’s story shines a light on food and culture not just in American restaurants...

Read more ›
Working

Working

From the two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Power Broker and The Years of Lyndon Johnson: an unprecedented gathering of vivid, candid, deeply revealing recollections...

Read more ›

Load more